Skip to main content

Girl at the Grave by Teri Bailey Black: A Book Review

Girl at the Grave 
Author: Teri Bailey Black
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense
Publisher: Tor Teen 
Release Date: 2018
Pages: 336
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In Girl at the Grave, debut author Teri Bailey Black unearths the long-buried secrets of a small 1850s New England town in this richly atmospheric Gothic tale of murder, guilt, redemption, and finding love where least expected.

    A mother hanged for murder.
    A daughter left to pick up the pieces of their crumbling estate.
    Can she clear her family’s name if it means facing her own dark past?

    Valentine has spent years trying to outrun her mother's legacy. But small towns have long memories, and when a new string of murders occurs, all signs point to the daughter of a murderer.

     Only one person believes Valentine is innocent—Rowan Blackshaw, the son of the man her mother killed all those years ago. Valentine vows to find the real killer, but when she finally uncovers the horrifying truth, she must choose to face her own dark secrets, even if it means losing Rowan in the end.

    My Review: At a young age, Valentine witnessed her mother killing a man. Years later, as a teenager, Valentine still bears the stigma of being a murderer’s daughter. Valentine has been ostracised by the people in her town. In school, she has to face Rowan, the son of the man who her mother murdered. One day, a preacher comes up to her and tells her that her mother may have been innocent. Valentine suspects that there was more to the murder than what she was led to believe. Can Valentine find the real killer and clear her mother’s name?

    At first, Valentine seemed to  be a very sympathetic character. She has been traumatized for witnessing her mother committing murder. However, throughout the novel, I started to dislike her. Valentine is a very selfish character. She doesn't care about anyone and how her actions may affect others. When her father and best friend go missing, Valentine does not bother to go searching for them, and instead cares about her romance with Rowan. Valentine also leads her best friend Sam on and cheats on him behind his back. These actions were very distasteful for a heroine, and I did not understand why two men were in love with her. She was not worthy of anyone’s love, and I hoped that both men would drop her because she often mistreated them. I was also upset that she did not even try to solve her mother’s murder. Thus, Valentine was one of the most frustrating and annoying characters that I have ever read.

   Overall, this novel is about secrets, betrayal, and love. The characters were flat and had little character depth. The romance between Valentine and Rowan was very unrealistic and instant. I thought Rowan was too good for Valentine and hoped he would love someone else, for she was very mean to him. While the mystery was very surprising and well-done, it was not the focus of the story. The main focus was the distressing love triangle between Rowan and Sam. Still, I recommend this for fans of Strands of Bronze and Gold, In the Shadow of Blackbirds, and The Witch of Willow Hall. However, for those who do not like a silly and bland heroine, this book may not be for you.

Rating: 2½ out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas