Blog Tour: The Time Collector by Gwendolyn Womack: A Book Review

The Time Collector by Gwendolyn Womack

Publication Date: April 16, 2019
Picador USA
eBook & Paperback; 368 Pages
Genre: Historical/Romantic Suspense

Synopsis: Travel through time with the touch of a hand.

   Roan West was born with an extraordinary gift: he can perceive the past of any object he touches. A highly skilled pyschometrist, he uses his talents to find and sell valuable antiques, but his quiet life in New Orleans is about to change. Stuart, a fellow pyschometrist and Roan’s close friend, has used his own abilities to unearth several out-of-place-artifacts or “ooparts”—like a ring that once belonged to the seventeenth-century mathematician and philosopher RenĂ© Descartes, but was found buried in prehistoric bedrock.

   The relics challenge recorded history, but soon after the discovery, Stuart disappears, making him one of several psychometrists who have recently died or vanished without a trace. When Roan comes across a viral video of a young woman who has discovered a priceless pocket watch just by “sensing” it, he knows he has to warn her—but will Melicent Tilpin listen? And can Roan find Stuart before it’s too late?

   The quest for answers will lead Roan and Melicent around the world—before it brings them closer to each other and a startling truth—in the latest romantic thriller from Gwendolyn Womack, the bestselling, PRISM Award-winning author of The Memory Painter and The Fortune Teller.

    My Review: Melicent Tilpin is a psychometrist, which means that she can perceive the past of any object she touches. She becomes a viral sensation overnight when she posts of her telling the past of a pocket watch just by feeling it. However, the video has made her a target. She is warned of the danger by another psychometrist, Roan West. He tells her that there is someone on a mission to kill all the psychometrists and that one of them is currently kidnapped. Together, they search for the kidnapped psychometrist and find who out who is after them. 

   Melicent is a likable character. She is a woman trying to come to terms with her gift. I really like how she is a caring sister to her teenage brother. She is a motherly figure to him, and she cares about his safety first. Her caring relationship to her brother makes her grow as a character especially since there are times when she can be very dislikable. She can be petty, judgemental, and jealous. Thus, Melicent is a flawed but mature figure.

  As for Roan, I did not think that there was much depth to him. He seemed very perfect. He is handsome, dashing, and intelligent. There are times that he is very insecure with his gift. He has experienced many personal tragic incidents because of his ability. However, the concept is not fully explored nor is it shown clearly how he struggles with his gift on an everyday basis, except for wearing gloves. Thus, I thought his character needed more development.

    Overall, this novel is about family, friendship, and renewed love. I thought that the romance between Melicent and Roan seemed to be very rushed. There was not a reason for these two to like each other except that they were psychometrists. The writing is very well-done. However, the novel is told from other side characters that do not seem to add to the plot. The science fiction aspect was a bit confusing and there was also very little historical fiction in this novel. Still, The Time Collector is an easy and fast-paced read that will be sure to keep you entertained for a few hours. I recommend this for fans of The Lost Sisterhood, Island on Fire, and Arcadia Falls.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million | iBooks | IndieBound | Kobo 

Praise for The Time Collector

   “A wonderfully intriguing tale, filled with the mystery of objects that tell a story. The Time Collector’s fast pace and fascinating premise will delight history and romance lovers.”―Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghost Bride

   “A compelling exploration of time, history, and our primal need to connect with the past, The Time Collector is also a rollicking adventure through ancient mysteries and the moving story of two stunningly drawn characters, chasing the answer to the question of what it means to be human.”―Charlie Lovett, New York Times bestselling author of The Bookman’s Tale and The Lost Book of the Grail

   “Gwendolyn Womack weaves a suspenseful tale that tackles the question of ‘time’―how it’s measured, its impact on nature and human consciousness―and I could hardly put it down! The Time Collector is a treasure trove of ancient artifacts, mysticism, and intrigue, sprinkled with a dash of romance―my very favorite things. What a book!”―Heather Webb, international bestselling author of Meet Me in Monaco

   “The Time Collector is a fascinating tale of psychometrists, people who touch an object and sense the stories embedded within them. Pick up this book and you too will be transported across the globe and the centuries into exhilarating worlds filled with history and mystery, magic and mysticism, romance and danger. Its pages make the past come alive. Once you hold this object in your hands, you won’t be able to put it down.”―Amy Weiss, author of Crescendo

About the Author

    Originally from Houston, Texas, GWENDOLYN WOMACK studied theater at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks and holds an MFA in Directing Theatre, Video, and Cinema from California Institute of the Arts. She is the USA Today bestselling author of The Fortune Teller and the RWA Prism Award-winning reincarnation thriller, The Memory Painter. She resides in Los Angeles with her family.

 For more information please visit Gwendolyn Womack's website. You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, April 16 
Review at 100 Pages a Day 

Wednesday, April 17 
Excerpt at The Book Junkie Reads 

Thursday, April 18 
Feature at What Is That Book About 
Excerpt at Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots 

Friday, April 19 
Review at Passages to the Past 

Monday, April 22 
Review at My Reading Chronicles 
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective 

Tuesday, April 23 
Feature at Cover To Cover Cafe 
Excerpt at To Read, Or Not to Read 

Wednesday, April 24 
Review at Pursuing Stacie 

Thursday, April 25 
Interview at Passages to the Past 

Friday, April 26 
Feature at Historical Fiction with Spirit 

Tuesday, April 30 
Excerpt at Kimber Li 

Wednesday, May 1 
Review & Excerpt at Clarissa Reads it All 

Thursday, May 2 
Review & Excerpt at Broken Teepee 

Friday, May 3 
Review at Tar Heel Reader 

Saturday, May 4 
Review & Interview at Jorie Loves a Story 

Sunday, May 5 
Review at Carole's Ramblings 

Monday, May 6 
Review at A Chick Who Reads 

Wednesday, May 8 
Feature at CelticLady's Reviews 

Thursday, May 9 
Review at Henry & Benny's Book Nook 

Friday, May 10 
Review at Coffee and Ink

Giveaway

    During the Blog Tour, we will be giving away a signed copy of The Time Collector! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on May 10th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen. 

Time Collector 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Song of Songs by Marc Graham: A Book Review

Blog Tour: Cover Reveal of The Hollow Queen (Stolen Empire #5) by Sherry D. Ficklin

The Orphan's Tale by Pam Jenoff: A Book Review