Skip to main content

Ignite (Book #2 of Defy Trilogy) by Sara B. Larson: A Book Review

Ignite (Book #2 of Defy Trilogy)
Author: Sara B. Larson
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publisher: Scholastic
Release Date: 2014
Pages: 304
Source: My State Public Library
Synopsis: In the kingdom of Antion, peace has at long last been restored. Now that King Hector's reign of terror is over, the newly crowned King Damian, along with his most trusted guard, Alexa, must focus on rebuilding Antion and reclaiming the hope of their people. But the wounds of the past are no as easily mended as Alexa and Damian had hoped. And to further complicate matters, Alexa still harbors a secret love for Damian, a love she refuses to acknowledge for the sake of Antion, and for the sake of the king himself. 

     When new threats to the kingdom surface--including an assassination attempt on Damian--blame is cast on the once-friendly nation of Blevon. Alexa knows things are not what they seem, however, and once again the fate of her country hangs in the balance. Will Alexa be able to protect her king and find the true enemy before it's too late? 

     Filled with romance and treachery, magic and violence, this stunning sequel to Defy whisks readers off on another thrilling adventure.

      My review: The nations, Antion and Blevon, have at last made peace. With the crowning the new king Damien of Antion, the country can now find hope and happiness. King Damien and his bodyguard, Alexa, can now focus on their goals of rebuilding the country. However, it seems that the peace between nations does not last. Trouble soon arises and it points to Blevon. Alexa must find ways to keep the peace between her country and to save her king.

     Alexa is an admirable heroine. She is definitely stronger than she was in the last novel. She is a tough fighter that can easily defeat most people in combat. She is very inquisitive and is impatient and she demands answers on the most. Alexa is also selfless. She is not afraid to die for those she loves. In this sequel, Alexa is more mature and she must make hard choices. She is often sad in this novel and full of pain because she is often alone in this novel. Because of this, Alexa is definitely not a damsel in distress. Through her trials and obstacles, Alexa must use her strength, intelligence, and courage in order to save her country and protect those she loves.

     Overall, this book is about friendship, choices, and sacrifice. The message of the novel is that love overcomes all obstacles. This book was a fast-paced riveting read. It will captivate the reader from the very first page. It is a page-turner that is filled with mystery and suspense. It has romance, political intrigue, danger, action,  magic, and friendship. I did feel that the world-building is still not developed enough because it does not really go into details about the country and their surroundings. However, I did feel that the characters have made vast improvements from the first novel. They are definitely more mature and wiser. This novel could be read as a standalone  because there is a lot of background information so that the reader who did not read the first novel would not get lost. Still, I recommend you reading Defy first, so that you can experience this journey with the main character from the  beginning and empathize with her emotions-- her pain, her triumphs, and her accomplishments. It is hard for a sequel to be better than the first novel in the series, still I feel that Ignite has greatly surpassed Defy. This novel was an entertaining read. I found the villain in Ignite to be more interesting than the villain in Defy because it was stronger and not so easily defeatable. Unlike the last novel, Ignite ended in a cliffhanger. After reading this novel, I am eagerly looking forward to reading the novel in the series. I definitely recommend this novel to anyone interested in fantasy, action, and romance, and for anyone who is looking for strong heroines that are as tough as Katniss Everdeen.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t