Skip to main content

The Queen's Caprice by Marjorie Bowen: A Book Review

The Queen’s Caprice
Author: Marjorie Bowen
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 288
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: There have been few more controversial figures in British history than Mary Queen of Scots. 

     In this thrilling novel she is bought vividly back to life. 

     She is a woman shrouded in secrecy and surrounded by violence who has learnt to use her desirability to intoxicate her subjects into carrying out her will. 

     Yet despite this natural authority she cannot escape the domineering men who not only sway the court but the opinion of the people. 

     Lord Moray, her bastard half-brother, adores her more than his familial position should allow and vows not to let her into another man’s clutches. 

     Which compels her to marry the handsome but naïve Henry Stewart in act of rebellion. 
But her husband’s disappointing nature drives her into the arms of the shrewd Italian servant David Rizzio. 

     And as acts of murder and treachery unfold, the Earl of Bothwell hovers as a tantalising presence on the outskirts, capturing the queen’s capricious attention. 

     ‘The Queen’s Caprice’ is an enthralling historical romance set during the reign of one of Scotland’s most captivating monarchs.


     My Review: The Queen’s Caprice tells of Mary, Queen of Scots, rule in Scotland. She is beautiful and loved by the men around her. However, with her marriage to Henry Stuart and favoring an Italian dwarf named David, she loses the nobles’ favor and treachery and danger abounds. Mary must fight to keep control of Scotland as the nobles try to take away her power.

     Mary is a tragic figure. She is a weak ruler. She chooses the wrong men, who want nothing but to have Scotland for themselves. She is easily influenced by her ambitious brother James Moray, who wants control. She has a turbulent marriage with Henry Stuart, who she is infatuated with and eventually shows his true colors as a jealous, ambitious, spoiled brat that doesn’t love her but wants her throne. She is also lonely, which is why she turns her attention and favours the Italian dwarf, because he is smart and humors her. When she finds that trouble is admist, and powerless, she fights to keep her right to the throne. Still she does not succeed.

     Overall, this is a fascinating story about the tragic events of Queen Mary’s rule in Scotland. While Queen Mary is not likeable, I still found her story interesting. She strives to find love and happiness but sadly does not find it. Yet this story is filled with political intrigue, drama, treachery, and betrayal. This book reads like a soap opera, and is filled with fast-paced action. The Queen’s Caprice will appeal to anyone interested in Mary, Queen of Scots, The Elizabethan Era, and The Tudors. It will also appeal to fans of Margaret George, Jean Plaidy, and Philippa Gregory.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

  1. Good review, Lauralee! She really had a doomed legacy.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks, Dad. I think her doomed fate is what fascinates so many people over the centuries.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas