Skip to main content

Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter: A Book Review

Finding Gabriel
Author: Rachel L. Demeter
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Momentum
Release Date: August 27, 2015
Pages: 415
Source:  This book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

     After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon's army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

     But fate has a different plan.

     Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she's moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

     Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah - and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah's own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts - or will the cycle of history repeat again?

     Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley's Lord of Ice and Judith James's Broken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.

     My Review: Ariah finds a wounded man on the brink of death washed up on the Seine River. Moved by compassion, she saves him. She learns that the man is named Gabriel and that he was a veteran soldier. He is haunted from his past and tried to commit suicide. As the romance slowly blossoms between them, Gabriel also finds out that Ariah too is conflicted by her own inner demons that threaten to tear them apart.

     Ariah is a young mother whose husband still has not returned from the war. She also takes care of her younger sister who has a stutter. Her daughter is sick and she has a doctor that frequently comes over to treat her. She is kind and compassionate, which is why she saves Gabriel, yet she has a fierceness in her, and is not afraid to hurt anyone who tries to hurt her daughter. However, while she seems hard on the outside, inside she is also broken. The ghosts from her past continue to haunt her and therefore she is reluctant to find love and happiness.

     Gabriel is also haunted from his past. He was once handsome, but he is disfigured by the wound he inflicted upon himself during his suicide attempt. His hideousness abhors strangers who look upon him. Because of his looks, he is even more ashamed of himself and wishes he was dead. Gabriel struggles to not only confront his inner demons, but to also find his reason to live. He finds it through his budding romance with Ariah.

     I loved the blossoming romance between Ariah and Gabriel. They both matched perfectly together. Their love also progress naturally and slowly. They both had experienced loss, and  wanted to escape their past and start their lives anew. They were each other’s light during their times of darkness. With their love for each other, they find redemption, acceptance, and their reason to live.

     Overall, this novel is about loss, friendship, family, love, redemption, hope, and acceptance. The message of the story is that while there is darkness, there is also light. Even if there are tough times, there is always a chance for love and happiness. The story is very well-written and beautiful. While the story is slow moving and there is little action in the plot, it is a great character-driven novel. As the story progresses, the readers slowly get to peel off layers of the character’s past, and eventually their secrets and ghosts are revealed. I recommend this story to anyone who wants to immerse themselves in a dark, Gothic romance.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is the official book trailer of Finding Gabriel:

Comments

  1. Very good review! The love story sounds very interesting, especially with the man who disfigured himself.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks. This was a poignant beautiful story. The fact that he was disfigured means that love is about the beauty of the soul and not of the outward appearance. It is also about how love redeems and heals the soul. Gabriel came to Ariah as a broken man, but through his love he was able to come to terms with himself and ready to begin anew.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Because the book was released today, the kindle version is on sale at Amazon for 99 cents for a limited time.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas