Skip to main content

Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe by Dawn Tripp: A Book Review

Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O’Keeffe
Author: Dawn Tripp
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Random House
Release Date: February, 9 2016
Pages: 337
Source:Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.

     This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine. 

     In 1916, Georgia O’Keeffe is a young, unknown art teacher when she travels to New York to meet Stieglitz, the famed photographer and art dealer, who has discovered O’Keeffe’s work and exhibits it in his gallery. Their connection is instantaneous. O’Keeffe is quickly drawn into Stieglitz’s sophisticated world, becoming his mistress, protégé, and muse, as their attraction deepens into an intense and tempestuous relationship and his photographs of her, both clothed and nude, create a sensation. 

     Yet as her own creative force develops, Georgia begins to push back against what critics and others are saying about her and her art. And soon she must make difficult choices to live a life she believes in.

     A breathtaking work of the imagination, Georgia is the story of a passionate young woman, her search for love and artistic freedom, the sacrifices she will face, and the bold vision that will make her a legend.

     My Review: Georgia is about the love story between Georgia O'Keeffe and the photographer Alfred Stieglitz. Georgia is an art teacher who decides to live in New York City. There, the famous photographer Alfred notices her art work and sees her potential as a talented artist. The two of them soon have an affair and eventually marry. However, during their tempestuous relationship, Georgia fights hard to be an accomplished artist in her own right,  Yet to achieve it, she must make some hard choices.

     While I have known some of Georgia O'Keeffe's artwork, I have never known the personal details of her life. Yet, I found that her life was full of drama. Georgia is in an interesting character. She is a romantic, which is why she was attracted to Stieglitz. Stieglitz's photographs take an ordinary object and make it fascinating. Through Stieglitz’s art, it is like she has entered a dreamworld. However, she feels that her own art is not really being recognized. People praise her because she is Stieglitz’s latest flame. She is faced with reality and she is willing to do anything to make her dreams come true.

     As for Georgia and Stieglitz’s relationship, I found it a bit rocky. I did not really like Steiglitz. He is a womanizer. Sometimes, he can also be very controlling. He also has a mean temper. The novel can be a bit repetitive sometimes because they separate, but they come back together. While I did not like their relationship, I did find that Stieglitz had a major impact on Georgia’s artwork, and he is a main figure in her life.

     Overall, this book is about a woman’s quest to find love and happiness. This novel is beautifully written. While the characters are flawed, they seem real and very human. However, I did feel that this novel was a bit slow and repetitive at times. I recommend this novel to fans of art history, Heather Webb, Rita Cameron, and M.J. Rose.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas