Skip to main content

Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe by Dawn Tripp: A Book Review

Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O’Keeffe
Author: Dawn Tripp
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Random House
Release Date: February, 9 2016
Pages: 337
Source:Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.

     This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine. 

     In 1916, Georgia O’Keeffe is a young, unknown art teacher when she travels to New York to meet Stieglitz, the famed photographer and art dealer, who has discovered O’Keeffe’s work and exhibits it in his gallery. Their connection is instantaneous. O’Keeffe is quickly drawn into Stieglitz’s sophisticated world, becoming his mistress, protégé, and muse, as their attraction deepens into an intense and tempestuous relationship and his photographs of her, both clothed and nude, create a sensation. 

     Yet as her own creative force develops, Georgia begins to push back against what critics and others are saying about her and her art. And soon she must make difficult choices to live a life she believes in.

     A breathtaking work of the imagination, Georgia is the story of a passionate young woman, her search for love and artistic freedom, the sacrifices she will face, and the bold vision that will make her a legend.

     My Review: Georgia is about the love story between Georgia O'Keeffe and the photographer Alfred Stieglitz. Georgia is an art teacher who decides to live in New York City. There, the famous photographer Alfred notices her art work and sees her potential as a talented artist. The two of them soon have an affair and eventually marry. However, during their tempestuous relationship, Georgia fights hard to be an accomplished artist in her own right,  Yet to achieve it, she must make some hard choices.

     While I have known some of Georgia O'Keeffe's artwork, I have never known the personal details of her life. Yet, I found that her life was full of drama. Georgia is in an interesting character. She is a romantic, which is why she was attracted to Stieglitz. Stieglitz's photographs take an ordinary object and make it fascinating. Through Stieglitz’s art, it is like she has entered a dreamworld. However, she feels that her own art is not really being recognized. People praise her because she is Stieglitz’s latest flame. She is faced with reality and she is willing to do anything to make her dreams come true.

     As for Georgia and Stieglitz’s relationship, I found it a bit rocky. I did not really like Steiglitz. He is a womanizer. Sometimes, he can also be very controlling. He also has a mean temper. The novel can be a bit repetitive sometimes because they separate, but they come back together. While I did not like their relationship, I did find that Stieglitz had a major impact on Georgia’s artwork, and he is a main figure in her life.

     Overall, this book is about a woman’s quest to find love and happiness. This novel is beautifully written. While the characters are flawed, they seem real and very human. However, I did feel that this novel was a bit slow and repetitive at times. I recommend this novel to fans of art history, Heather Webb, Rita Cameron, and M.J. Rose.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a