Skip to main content

The Architect of Song (Haunted Hearts Legacy Book 1) by A.G. Howard: A Book Review

The Architect of Song (Haunted Hearts Legacy Book 1)
Author: A. G. Howard
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance, Paranormal
Publisher: Golden Orb Press
Release Date: August 15, 2016
Pages: 318
Source: This book was given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A lady imprisoned by deafness, an architect imprisoned by his past, and a ghost imprisoned within the petals of a flower – intertwine in this love story that transcends life and death. 

     For most of her life, Juliet Emerline has subsisted – isolated by deafness – making hats in the solitude of her home. Now, she’s at risk to lose her sanctuary to Lord Nicolas Thornton, a mysterious and eccentric architect with designs on her humble estate. When she secretly witnesses him raging beside a grave, Juliet investigates, finding the name “Hawk” on the headstone and an unusual flower at the base. The moment Juliet touches the petals, a young English nobleman appears in ghostly form, singing a song only her deaf ears can hear. The ghost remembers nothing of his identity or death, other than the one name that haunts his afterlife: Thornton. 

     To avenge her ghostly companion and save her estate, Juliet pushes aside her fear of society and travels to Lord Thornton’s secluded holiday resort, posing as a hat maker in one of his boutiques. There, she finds herself questioning who to trust: the architect of flesh and bones who can relate to her through romantic gestures, heartfelt notes, and sensual touches … or the specter who serenades her with beautiful songs and ardent words, touching her mind and soul like no other man ever can. As sinister truths behind Lord Thornton’s interest in her estate and his tie to Hawk come to light, Juliet is lured into a web of secrets. But it’s too late for escape, and the tragic love taking seed in her heart will alter her silent world forever.

     International and NYT bestselling author, A.G. Howard, brings her darkly magical and visual/visceral storytelling to Victorian England. The Architect of Song is the first installment in her lush and romantic Haunted Hearts Legacy series, a four book New Adult gothic saga following the generations of one family as - haunted by both literal and figurative ghosts - they search for self-acceptance, love, and happiness.

     My Review: When Juliet arrives at the cemetery where her mother is buried, she sees Lord Thornton, a man who wants to buy her estate. She sees him angry at a tombstone written with the name of “Hawk”. At the bottom of the grave site, an unusual flower catches her attention. Enthralled the by flower’s beauty, she decides to take it home. As soon as she touches the flower petals, a ghost of a handsome man appears. The ghost has no memory of his identity or his past. As Juliet tries to recapture the ghost’s identity, she learns that he has a connection with Lord Thornton. Soon Juliet must uncover Lord Thornton’s secrets to help her ghost.

     Juliet is an emotionally-damaged character. Since the death of her mother, she leans towards thoughts of depression. She has become a recluse. She has shunned her uncle and her maid, who is also her best friend, just to be alone. She welcomes death and does not want to be with the living. Yet, when the ghost appears, she is drawn to him by the voice he sings. He comforts her, and slowly, he gives her a will to live. With the ghost as her guide, she slowly embarks on a quest to appreciate life. Thus, I really did like Juliet. She is very vulnerable. However, she becomes a strong protagonist because she finds her inner strength and confidence. She is also very smart and observant. Therefore, I believe that Juliet is a character readers can relate to when they are going through a difficult time in their life or mourning the loss of a loved one.

     Overall, this book is about family, friends, love, choices, acceptance, redemption, and second chances. The Architect of Song is about a woman’s quest to appreciate being alive. The message of this book is that there is always hope, and that while you are going through difficult times, there are still good things ahead. This novel is very well-written. It is haunting, lyrical and evocative. This story will linger with you even after you read the last page. While this book is very slow and the tone is dark, I thought that it was perfect for its atmospheric setting. The Architect of Song is filled with paranormal, suspense, and romance, and I look forward to reading more books in this series. I encourage you to read it, for you will not be disappointed. This book is perfect for fans of M.J. Rose’s The Secret Language of Stones, Anne Rice’s Violin, and Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas