Skip to main content

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk: A Book Review

Wolf Hollow
Author: Lauren Wolk
Genre: Children, Historical Fiction
Publisher:  Dutton Books for Young Readers
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Pages: 304
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Growing up in the shadows cast by two world wars, Annabelle has lived a mostly quiet, steady life in her small Pennsylvania town. Until the day new student Betty Glengarry walks into her class. Betty quickly reveals herself to be cruel and manipulative, and while her bullying seems isolated at first, things quickly escalate, and reclusive World War I veteran Toby becomes a target of her attacks. While others have always seen Toby’s strangeness, Annabelle knows only kindness. She will soon need to find the courage to stand as a lone voice of justice as tensions mount.

     Brilliantly crafted, Wolf Hollow is a haunting tale of America at a crossroads and a time when one girl’s resilience and strength help to illuminate the darkest corners of our history.

     My Review: In a small Pennsylvania town, a tragic event has occurred. Annabelle is a young girl who has been bullied by an older girl named Betty. When Betty suddenly disappears, the suspicion falls on an outsider, Toby, whom Annabelle has befriended. Annabelle must master her courage to fight for the injustice of her friend. Can Annabelle save her friend or is it too late?

    Annabelle is a strong protagonist that audiences will root for. She is very fierce and loving. She will do anything to protect her family and also the first to befriend a stranger. She is also a young woman who must conquer her fear. Because she has been bullied by Betty, she becomes afraid of her. Yet, she must stand up to Betty and her lies to not only help herself but for her friend. Annabelle is also very brilliant. She is observant and is able figure out the mystery before anyone else. There were many times that Annabelle came off more like an adult than an eleven year old child, yet I liked this character that I was able to ignore her mature voice.

    Overall, this story is about family, friendship, injustice, and courage. The message of the book is to stand up for what is right. Wolf Hollow is a fast-paced mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. I really did like the characters. I do wish that Betty’s character was developed a bit more. I would have liked to understand her motives rather than her just being a mean girl to further the plot. While this is a children’s story, I believe that due to the story elements and the writing style that this book is more for mature teens and adults. Nevertheless, it would be good source material for teachers to read aloud in the classroom alongside The Watsons Went to Birmingham. Still, I recommend that parents read this novel first and discuss the themes with their children. I recommend this novel for fans of Bud, Not Buddy, Sounder, and Where the Red Fern Grows.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a