Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Sacred Legacy by Kat Flannery: A Book Review

02_Sacred Legacy

Sacred Legacy by Kat Flannery

Publication Date: July 31, 2016
Imajin Books
eBook & Paperback; 234 Pages

Series: The Branded Trilogy, Book 3
Genre: Historical/Romance/Western

Add to GR Button

Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Tsura is a Chuvani, and with that comes great power…

     Desperate to escape the memories that haunt her, Tsura Harris returns to Jamestown, the very place her mother forbade her to go. A gifted Chuvani, Tsura has sworn off all magick, thus making her vulnerable to the Renoldi clan, who wish to kill her and take the pendant that is the key to her power.

     Red Wolf is hell-bent on living his life on the sea, until he runs into Tsura on the docks. His pride wounded from her rejection years before, he hoped to never see her again. But when the evil Corsair, Romulus Black, demands to know where she is, Red Wolf must protect her, as is his duty.

     But is duty and honor his only reason, or does Red Wolf still carry a flame of love in his heart? And will Tsura finally discover her destiny?

     My Review: After a horrific event that haunts her, Tsura decides to start a new life in Jamestown. She is a woman that has magical powers, yet she chooses not to use them. However, there are people in Jamestown that want her dead. She also encounters people from her past. Red Wolf, her former love, has chosen to protect her from her enemies. Can the two of them find love again after a brutal break-up?

     I really liked the heroine,Tsura. She is a broken woman, who wants to start a new life. She is trying to heal from the past. Yet, she finds herself caught up with the past and is struggling to handle it. She is at times very strong and stubborn. Most of the time, she does not believe in herself. Throughout the novel, she is spent trying to find her self-confidence. I also liked her relationship with Red Wolf. Even though Red Wolf is still bitter with her over their break-up, he still chooses to protect and help her. He is very patient and stubborn also. I like how the two rekindle their relationship.

     Overall, this book is about second chances and healing. The message of this book is that there is always hope. I did like how this novel was set in a Native American tribe. I thought Sacred Legacy was meticulously researched on Native American culture and customs. However, I found the plot to lack creativity. I felt that I had read this story too many times. It was basically a Native American retelling of Persuasion. I would have liked more emphasis on the magic element. Nevertheless, it is a quick and light read. I recommend this for anyone who would like to read a sweet romance and for fans of Jane Austen, Pema Donyo, and Sarah Price.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

     “One of the few stories that captured me from beginning to end.” —USA Today bestselling author, Rosanne Bittner


Amazon | Barnes & Noble


About the Author

04_Kat Flannery

     Kat Flannery’s love of history shows in her novels. She is an avid reader of historical, suspense, paranormal, and romance. When not researching for her next book, Kat can be found running her three sons to hockey and lacrosse. She has her Certificate in Freelance and Business Writing. A member of many writing groups, Kat enjoys promoting other authors on her blog. She’s been published in numerous periodicals. Her debut novel CHASING CLOVERS has been on Amazon’s Bestsellers list many times and was #62 over all their titles. LAKOTA HONOR and BLOOD CURSE (Branded Trilogy) are Kat’s two award-winning novels and HAZARDOUS UNIONS is Kat’s first novella. Kat is currently hard at work on her next book.

     For more information please visit Kat Flannery's website. You can find Kat on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.


Giveaway

     
     To enter the Sacred Legacy Giveaway for a $100 Amazon Gift Card, please see the GLEAM form below.

Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on August 19th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open internationally.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.




04_Sacred Legacy_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t