Skip to main content

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sisters #3) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sisters #3)
Author: Lucinda Riley
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Atria
Release Date: April 18, 2017
Pages: 512
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Travel through the lush English countryside and explore the magnificent estates of the British aristocracy in this next spellbinding love story in The Seven Sisters series by #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

    Star D’Apli├Ęse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to her true heritage, and Star nervously decides to follow hers, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world.

     A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from the residence of her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter—when machinations lead her to London, and the home of one of Edwardian society’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel. Flora is torn between passionate love and her duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a larger game. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life...

     As Star learns more of Flora’s incredible journey, she too goes on a voyage of discovery, finally stepping out of the shadow of her sister and opening herself up to the possibility of love.

     My Review: After the death of her adoptive father, Star learns that her father left her a clue to her origins. The clue he left behind leads her to a small bookstore in London and asks for the name of Flora MacNicol. Little that she knows that by befriending the owner of the bookstore, Orlando, that she learns her connection to his family and finds her own independence. The family eventually tells her Flora’s story. As she listens to the story, Star learns the truth about where she comes from and makes tough choices in order to find her happiness.

     Flora’s story was moving and heart-wrenching. In the beginning of her story. She has a carefree life. She has a menagerie of animals, but the animal she really adores is her cat, Panther. However, she goes through hard trials and is separated from the man she loves. She sacrifices her dreams and happiness for her sister’s sake. Flora’s story was very emotional, and I hoped that her story would end in a satisfying outcome. There were times that Flora did some ruthless deeds, but she did them to protect her family. Thus, Flora is a lovable character because she always puts her family before herself.

    While I preferred the historical aspect more than the modern one. Star’s story is captivating also. Star finds herself at ends with her with sister, Cece, and she must choose to be her own self or to be in her sister’s shadow. She is a strong person too and often helps her new friends. She also finds herself dealing with first love. Therefore, Star is a very relatable character, and readers root for her to achieve her independence from her needy sister!
     
   Overall, this book is about family, love, friendship, secrets, choices, and happiness. All the characters were very realistic and likable. The Edwardian setting was very fascinating and we meet many famous figures, such as Beatrix Potter, Mrs. Keppel, and King Edward VII. The story also has a mystery aspect, for there are secrets that Flora has hidden for many decades. I have never read The Seven Sisters series before, and I was disappointed in myself that I hadn’t read the others at all. If if hadn’t been for The Shadow Sister, I might have missed out on a really good series. While I am waiting for the sequel, The Pearl Sister, I am definitely going to catch myself up on the first two books! The Shadow Sister is perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Gill Paul,  and Melanie Dobson.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Here is a video of Lucinda talking about her book, The Shadow Sister:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a