Skip to main content

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sisters #3) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sisters #3)
Author: Lucinda Riley
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Atria
Release Date: April 18, 2017
Pages: 512
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Travel through the lush English countryside and explore the magnificent estates of the British aristocracy in this next spellbinding love story in The Seven Sisters series by #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley.

    Star D’Aplièse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to her true heritage, and Star nervously decides to follow hers, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world.

     A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from the residence of her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter—when machinations lead her to London, and the home of one of Edwardian society’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel. Flora is torn between passionate love and her duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a larger game. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life...

     As Star learns more of Flora’s incredible journey, she too goes on a voyage of discovery, finally stepping out of the shadow of her sister and opening herself up to the possibility of love.

     My Review: After the death of her adoptive father, Star learns that her father left her a clue to her origins. The clue he left behind leads her to a small bookstore in London and asks for the name of Flora MacNicol. Little that she knows that by befriending the owner of the bookstore, Orlando, that she learns her connection to his family and finds her own independence. The family eventually tells her Flora’s story. As she listens to the story, Star learns the truth about where she comes from and makes tough choices in order to find her happiness.

     Flora’s story was moving and heart-wrenching. In the beginning of her story. She has a carefree life. She has a menagerie of animals, but the animal she really adores is her cat, Panther. However, she goes through hard trials and is separated from the man she loves. She sacrifices her dreams and happiness for her sister’s sake. Flora’s story was very emotional, and I hoped that her story would end in a satisfying outcome. There were times that Flora did some ruthless deeds, but she did them to protect her family. Thus, Flora is a lovable character because she always puts her family before herself.

    While I preferred the historical aspect more than the modern one. Star’s story is captivating also. Star finds herself at ends with her with sister, Cece, and she must choose to be her own self or to be in her sister’s shadow. She is a strong person too and often helps her new friends. She also finds herself dealing with first love. Therefore, Star is a very relatable character, and readers root for her to achieve her independence from her needy sister!
     
   Overall, this book is about family, love, friendship, secrets, choices, and happiness. All the characters were very realistic and likable. The Edwardian setting was very fascinating and we meet many famous figures, such as Beatrix Potter, Mrs. Keppel, and King Edward VII. The story also has a mystery aspect, for there are secrets that Flora has hidden for many decades. I have never read The Seven Sisters series before, and I was disappointed in myself that I hadn’t read the others at all. If if hadn’t been for The Shadow Sister, I might have missed out on a really good series. While I am waiting for the sequel, The Pearl Sister, I am definitely going to catch myself up on the first two books! The Shadow Sister is perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Gill Paul,  and Melanie Dobson.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Here is a video of Lucinda talking about her book, The Shadow Sister:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I