Skip to main content

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code
Author: Kate Quinn
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 635
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.

 

     Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.

 

    Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.

 

    1947, London.

 

     Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged, their friendship torn apart by secrets and betrayal. Yet now they must race against the clock to crack one final code together, before it’s too late, for them and for their country.


     My Review: The Rose Code tells the story of three women who worked at Bletchley Park. Three enemies who were once friends are reunited by a strange letter written in code about the mysterious traitor of Bletchley Park. The three women have to join hands again to find the traitor. Can the three find the traitor and mend their broken friendship?


    The three women, Osla, Mab, and Beth are fictional. However, it seems that Osla is inspired by a real historical figure. The three characters are vastly different, Osla is a rich socialite who happened to date Prince Phillip, the Queen’s future husband. Mab is a poor woman who strives to rise out of poverty. Beth is a woman trying to survive domestic abuse from her mother. Despite these three backgrounds, I found the characters to be a bit bland. They were very stereotypical. The character I was most interested in was Beth because she had a very tragic story. Thus, I thought they could use more development.


    Overall, this was a story about friendship, choices, and forgiveness. The characters were very stereotypical. The romance which was one of the main focuses in the book was weak. I really did not like Prince Phillips’s relationship with Osla, and I think Prince Phillip made the best decision in ending up with the queen. Osla and Prince Phillip just did not connect. The mystery aspect was very little focused upon. I was disappointed by this because it was the best part in the book. I was also not impressed with the writing style. It was written in a passive voice. This novel also seemed to be very drawn out. Despite its flaws, The Rose Code reads like a soap opera because there is danger, betrayal, and scandal. I recommend this novel for fans of Code Name Verity, Code Name Helene, and The Codebreakers! The Rose Code is a light, fluffy read that is perfect for the beach!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This is the official book trailer for The Rose Code:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot