Skip to main content

Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones: A Book Review

Josephine Baker’s Last Dance
Author: Sherry Jones
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Gallery Books
Release Date: December 4, 2018
Pages: 384
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.

    In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

    With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.

    My Review: Josephine Baker was one of 20th century’s most legendary performers. She was a woman who overcame the obstacles of racism and became famous and successful. She was a dancer, singer, actress, WWII spy, and Civil Rights Activist. Her story has inspired millions. Josephine Baker's Last Dance chronicles the accomplishments as well as the hardships that Josephine experienced until her very last performance. The novel shows that Josephine’s greatest love was to sing, dance, and entertain.

    Josephine Baker has always been an enigma to me. Her story has always been fascinating, but she always seemed distant and unknowable. In Josephine Baker's Last Dance, Josephine is no longer just a two-dimensional woman on the screen, but a real flesh and blood woman. This novel portrays Josephine’s hopes, flaws, and vulnerabilities. During Josephine’s childhood, there seemed to be very little hope of Josephine ever becoming a star. She grew up in a poor and abusive household in St. Louis, Missouri. However, through Josephine’s passion and determination, she was able to find wealth and fame. Throughout her life, Josephine struggled with racism. However, she never let people’s prejudices affect her. She then became a Civil Rights activist and tirelessly fought for their rights. 

   Overall, this novel is about a woman who overcame racism, poverty, war, and domestic abuse to become a legendary star. The message of the novel is to never give up on your dreams and always work hard. The characters are very flawed and realistic. The setting was very authentic. I love how the author shows the glitz and glamour Paris before WWII and its destruction after the war. The writing was very lyrical, steeped with eloquent descriptions of dance and music. There were some graphic scenes and some that feature abuse that made me a bit uncomfortable. However, I thought that they were necessary because they made Josephine fight harder to pursue her dreams. Josephine Baker's Last Dance is a novel about a woman who would not be stopped on her path to stardom. This novel is perfect for fans of Mademoiselle Chanel, Z, and Platinum Doll.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
       

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a