Skip to main content

Blog Tour: What Girls Are Good For by David Blixt: A Book Review

What Girls Are Good For by David Blixt

Publication Date: November 6, 2018
Creativia
Paperback & eBook; 535 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


Synopsis: Nellie Bly has the story of a lifetime. But will she survive to tell it?

    Enraged by an article entitled ‘What Girls Are Good For’, Elizabeth Cochrane pens an angry letter to the Pittsburgh Dispatch, never imagining a Victorian newspaper would hire a woman reporter. Taking the name Nellie Bly, she struggles against the male-dominated industry, reporting stories no one else will – the stories of downtrodden women.

    Chased out of Mexico for revealing government corruption, her romantic advances rejected by a married colleague, Bly earns the chance to break into the New York’s Newspaper Row if she can nab a major scoop – life inside a madhouse. Feigning madness, she dupes the court into committing her to the Insane Asylum on Blackwell’s Island.

     But matters are far worse than she ever dreamed. Stripped, drugged, beaten, she must endure a week of terror, reliving the darkest days of her childhood, in order to escape and tell the world her story. Only, at the end of the week, no rescue comes, and she fears she may be trapped forever…

   Based on the real-life events of Nellie Bly’s life and reporting, What Girls Are Good For is a tale of rage, determination, and triumph – all in the frame of a tiny Pennsylvania spitfire who refused to let the world tell her how to live her life, and changed the world instead.

     My Review: Nellie Bly is one of America’s most famous journalists. Many strong female characters such as Lois Lane, Lana Winters, and Maggie Dubois were all based on her. The novel What Girls Are Good For chronicles the early years of her life. After reading a newspaper article where it patronizes women’s daily lives, Nellie Bly writes a scathing letter to the newspaper about the hardships of womanhood. This impresses their editor, and he hires Nellie to write an article on the average woman. Happy with her assignment, Nellie wants to investigate the life of an average working woman. This is the first of many of Nellie’s strange adventures.

    Nellie is a delightful and charming character. She is spirited and idealistic. She is bold, witty, and confident. She has a taste for adventure. She loves to go undercover and write about her experiences. However, I really like the part in the novel where Nellie feigns madness to get into the asylum. This is where we see Nellie at her most vulnerable and her insecure. However, it is through these experiences that Nellie becomes a stronger fighter and a wiser person.

    Overall, this novel is about passion, beliefs, and inner strength. I thought all the characters were very realistic, and I loved how the author portrayed a male-dominated world that is baffled by an unconventional woman. The story is fast-paced and will draw you in with the first few pages. The only thing I did not like about this book was that there were some unnecessary and drawn-out scenes. However, I am excited for the sequel! What Girls Are Good For is a novel that you will want to read again! I recommend this for fans of Madame Presidentess, Falling Angels, and Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Available on Amazon


Praise for What Girls Are Good For


“Dramatic, engrossing, and spirited, What Girls Are Good For takes the reader straight to the heart of an unsung American hero–a feminist icon whose voice rings loud and true. This is a must-read for anyone who loves an underdog and celebrates justice; the perfect accompaniment for our present times.” – Olivia Hawker, international bestselling author of The Ragged Edge of Night

“With rich imagination and meticulous research, David Blixt has brought the hectic, exciting world of nineteenth-century journalism vividly to life. His Nellie Bly is determined, independent, crafty, irresistible — a heroine any reader would be delighted to get to know.” – Matthew Goodman, New York Times bestselling author


About the Author



    David Blixt‘s work is consistently described as “intricate,” “taut,” and “breathtaking.” A writer of Historical Fiction, his novels span the early Roman Empire (the COLOSSUS series, his play EVE OF IDES) to early Renaissance Italy (the STAR-CROSS’D series) up through the Elizabethan era (his delightful espionage comedy HER MAJESTY’S WILL, starring Will Shakespeare and Kit Marlowe as inept spies). His novels combine a love of the theatre with a deep respect for the quirks and passions of history.

    Living in Chicago with his wife and two children, he describes himself as “actor, author, father, husband. In reverse order.”

   For more information, please visit David Blixt's website. You can also find him on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.


Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, December 10 
Review at Bookish Rantings 

Thursday, December 13 
Review at Bri's Book Nook 

Monday, December 17 
Review at 100 Pages a Day 

Tuesday, December 18 
Excerpt at Donna's Book Blog 

Wednesday, December 19 
Review & Guest Post at Clarissa Reads it All 
Review at History From a Woman's Perspective 

Thursday, December 20 
Review at Passages to the Past 

Friday, December 21 
Review at Just One More Chapter 
Review at Tar Heel Reader 

Saturday, December 22 
Interview at Passages to the Past 

Thursday, December 27 
Review at A Bookish Affair 

Friday, December 28 
Review at Coffee and Ink 
Interview at Reading the Past


Giveaway

    During the Blog Tour we will be giving away 4 paperback copies of What Girls Are Good For! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules:

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on December 28th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open to US residents only.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

  What Girls Are Good For

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther