Skip to main content

Dear George, Dear Mary: A Novel of George Washington's First Love by Mary Calvi: A Book Review

Dear George, Dear Mary: A Novel of George Washington's First Love
Author: Mary Calvi
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: February 19, 2019
Pages: 320
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A never-before-told love story of George Washington and heiress Mary Philipse based on historical accounts, letters, and personal journals by nine-time New York Emmy Award-winning journalist Mary Calvi.

"Love is said to be an involuntary passion, and it is, therefore, contended that it cannot be resisted." --George Washington

    Did unrequited love spark a flame that ignited a cause that became the American Revolution? Crafted from hundreds of letters, witness accounts, and journal entries, Dear George, Dear Mary explores George's relationship with his first love, New York heiress Mary Philipse, the richest belle in Colonial America.

     From elegant eighteenth-century society to bloody battlefields, the novel creates breathtaking scenes and riveting characters. Dramatic portraits of the two main characters unveil a Washington on the precipice of greatness, using the very words he spoke and wrote, and his ravishing love, whose outward beauty and refinement disguise a complex inner struggle.

     Dear George, Dear Mary reveals why George Washington had such bitter resentment toward the Brits, established nearly two decades before the American Revolution, and it unveils details of a deception long hidden from the world that led Mary Philipse to be named a traitor, condemned to death and left with nothing. While that may sound like the end, ultimately both Mary and George achieve what they always wanted.

     My Review: Dear George, Dear Mary tells the story of George Washington’s ill-fated romance with Mary Philipse. Mary is a young, rich, and beautiful New York socialite that is traumatized by her past. One day, she meets a young colonel named George Washington, who gentle understanding help her heal from past tragic events. One day. George is called away, and he never returns. Thinking that George has abandoned her, Mary marries another. However, Mary will always keep him in her heart.

   I didn’t know that before Martha Washington, there was another woman in George’s life. I was a bit hesitant reading this because I admire Martha, and I didn’t want George to fall in love with anyone besides her. After reading Dear George, Dear Mary, I found the relationship between George and Mary so tragic that I kept wondering what would happen had they ended up together.

  Mary Philipse is a very sympathetic and a pitiful character. Even though she was on the edge on womanhood when the novel begins, she has already suffered many misfortunes. She believe that she was responsible for her mother’s death and can never overcome her guilt. This leads her to be very melancholic and often she contemplates death. When she meets George, she loves him because of his straightforwardness and understanding. He helps her learn to heal her old wounds. Throughout the novel, Mary tries to move past the tragedies that have occured in her life and live a life of peace. Thus, Mary is a very relatable and realistic character because she is trying to come to terms with herself.

  I also thought George was a remarkable character. I have always admired him. However, this novel makes him more understandable. George is very honest and compassionate. He is also dutiful and loyal to his country. America is his main priority and makes many sacrifices, including delaying his courtship with Mary, to serve the new colony. Thus, it was very refreshing to see George Washington as a young, energetic man and how he matures into a formidable general.

    Overall, this novel is about misunderstandings, missed opportunities, and love. Though there were some cartoonish villains in the novel, I thought the rest of the characters were very realistic. The writing was very eloquent and gave us many sumptuous details of Colonial America. The only thing I did not like about this novel was that the ending seemed very rushed and abrupt. Still, I recommend this novel for those who want to read about young love. Dear George, Dear Mary is perfect for fans of Jefferson’s Daughter, Patriot Hearts, and I, Eliza Hamilton.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther