Skip to main content

Helen Had a Sister by Penelope Haines: A Book Review

Helen Had a Sister A Tale of Ancient Greece
Author: Penelope Haines
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Release Date: 2020
Pages: 259
Source: My personal collection
Synopsis: Helen of Troy's story is well known. Hers was the "face that launched a thousand ships", started a ten-year war and brought about Troy's destruction. But Helen had a sister.In a world where women were submissive, she ruled.In a world where women were loyal, she was unfaithful.In a world where honour and blood feuds abound, she exacted the ultimate revenge.Born into the Royal House of Sparta, her courageous spirit, passionate love and lust for life make her a unique heroine. Her character and her choices have fascinated people for centuries. Her story is one of betrayal, murder, adultery and revenge, set in ancient Greece at the time of the Trojan war.She is Clytemnestra, High Queen of Mycenae. 

     My Review: For centuries, Clytemnestra has had a horrible reputation in Greek mythology. Greek sources have portrayed her to be an unfaithful wife who murdered her husband. She eventually gets her just desserts when her son Orestes kills her with the help of his sister, Electra. However, this novel gives a sympathetic view of Clytemnestra. She is portrayed as a loving mother and a shrewd queen who was effective in managing a kingdom.

     In the beginning of the novel, Clytemnestra starts off having a crush on Agamemnon. She dreams of marrying him and living happily in his kingdom of Mycenae. Her dreams of happiness are dashed when she marries him because she realizes that he is a monster. He physically abuses her, and love for him turns to hate. When Agamemnon kills her kind and innocent daughter Iphigenia, Clytemnestra vows to get revenge on her husband. Therefore, Clytemnestra is portrayed as a tragic heroine who has been wronged by Agamemnon.

     Thus, this novel is about power, deception, and vengeance. There were a few scenes I found to be unconvincing. I did not buy the epic love between Clytemnestra and her lover Aegisthus that the author was trying to portray in this book. I thought that Aegisthus did not truly love Clytemnestra but used her as a tool to gain power in Mycenae. Still, Helen Had a Sister was a well-written character-driven novel. This novel gives the reader another look at a maligned figure in Greek mythology. I recommend Helen Had a Sister for fans of Circe, Helen of Troy, and The Silence of the Girls

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas