Skip to main content

Devayani by Manjula Tekal: A Book Review

Devayani

Author: Manjula Tekal

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Garuda Prakashan

Release Date: March 21, 2021

Pages: 249

Source: Personal Collection

Synopsis: Long before the Ramayana and Mahabharata wars were fought, Yayati, a scion of the lunar dynasty, was the emperor of Aryavarta, the land of the virtuous. He was an ancestor of the Kaurava princes. A tale of love, friendship, betrayal, and passion in the backdrop of a war between the Devas and the Asuras, Devayani, is a modern retelling of an ancient tale from the Mahabharata. Devayani, the self- willed daughter of Sukracharya, the Asura preceptor, became wife of emperor Yayati through a failed love affair with Kacha. How did the princess Sarmishtha, her friend, become her servant and then her rival? Why did Yayati have to ask his children to make the ultimate sacrifice—to give up their youth for him? Devayani takes you on a journey through infatuation, lust, jealousy, rage, betrayal, love and wisdom.Yayati's son Puru would later inherit the land of Saraswati from his father and start the Puru dynasty; the story of which is synonymous with Bharata.


    My Review: Devayani retells one of the most complicated love triangles in the Mahabharata. Devayani is a woman who is in love with her father’s disciple, Kacha. However, he ends up refusing to marry her. Shortly after Kacha’s rejection, Devayani has a fight with Sharmishtha. During her fight, she falls down a well and is rescued by King Yayati. To get back at her former lover, she immediately marries King Yayati and becomes his queen. Before she goes to her husband’s kingdom, she wants to get even with Sharmishtha, whom she accuses of trying to kill her, by forcing to become her maid. However, Devayani realizes that her plans for vengeance backfires.

Devayani is a hard character to like. She loves to play the victim card. She believes everyone around her has done her wrong, and she rarely reflects on her own actions. She is a woman that is filled with bitterness and grudges. She is very impulsive which brings trouble to her. When everyone tells her not to make Sharmishtha her maid and to forgive her, she turns a deaf ear to their advice. She is cruel to her husband and does not give him the affection he craves. It is no wonder that he eventually chooses Sharmishtha over her. Thus, Devayani loses everything due to her grievances.

Overall, this novel tells the tragic tale of a woman whose resentments cause her to lose the love and respect of everyone she loves. The moral of the novel is to be merciful. Had Devayani been forgiving, her ending might have turned out differently. The novel is a short, easy read. However, it is very thought-provoking.  All the characters are complex. King Yayati longs for a woman to truly love him. Sharmishtha pursues Yayati because of her jealousy for Devayani and ultimately wins him. There were a few flaws in this novel. Most of the time, it read like a cheesy soap opera, and the love triangle seemed drawn out and made an exhausting read. Despite its flaws, it was still worthwhile. Devayani gives readers another unique perspective to a complex character. I recommend this novel for fans of Lanka’s Princess, The Rise of Sivagami, and The Twentieth Wife!

    Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas