Skip to main content

The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr: A Riveting Untold Story of the American Revolution by Susan Holloway Scott: A Book Review

The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr: A Riveting Untold Story of the American Revolution
Author: Susan Holloway Scott
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Kensington
Release Date: 2019
Pages: 512
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Inspired by a woman and events forgotten by history, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott weaves together carefully researched fact and fiction to tell the story of Mary Emmons, and the place she held in the life—and the heart—of the notorious Aaron Burr.
 
     He was a hero of the Revolution, a brilliant politician, lawyer, and very nearly president; a skillful survivor in a raw new country filled with constantly shifting loyalties. Today Aaron Burr is remembered more for the fatal duel that killed rival Alexander Hamilton. But long before that single shot destroyed Burr’s political career, there were other dark whispers about him: that he was untrustworthy, a libertine, a man unafraid of claiming whatever he believed should be his.
 
     Sold into slavery as a child in India, Mary Emmons was brought to an America torn by war. Toughened by the experiences of her young life, Mary is intelligent, resourceful, and strong. She quickly gains the trust of her new mistress, Theodosia Prevost, and becomes indispensable in a complicated household filled with intrigue—especially when the now-widowed Theodosia marries Colonel Aaron Burr. As Theodosia sickens with the fatal disease that will finally kill her, Mary and Burr are drawn together into a private world of power and passion, and a secret, tangled union that would have shocked the nation . . .

My Review: Everyone has heard of Aaron Burr, who was infamous for killing Alexander Hamilton. Yet, hardly anyone has ever heard of his secret wife, Mary Emmons. Even though she is not mentioned in biographies of Aaron Burr, her legacy remains with her children, especially John Pierre Burr, the famous abolitionist. In this novel, Mrs. Scott reimagines what Mary Emmons’ life may have been like, and why Aaron Burr married her.

Mary Emmons was brought up in a poor household in Pondicherry, India. One day, her uncle sells her into slavery to the Beauharnais family. Through a series of events, she eventually makes her way to America where she is a slave to Theodosia, the wife of a British officer. Theodosia later marries Aaron Burr after the death of her husband. Through Mary Emmons' eyes we see the courtship and eventual marriage between Theodosia and Aaron Burr. We also see Aaron Burr’s growing attraction towards Mary Emmons.

I found Mary Emmons’ story to be compelling, and I could hardly stop reading because I kept hoping that things would get better for her. Mary Emmons’ life was full of tragedy. As a slave, her life was not her own. She was regarded and treated like property. Despite her circumstances, Mary Emmons was a smart and courageous woman. She never gave up fighting for her freedom. She was a very admirable character. I empathized with her and rooted for her to achieve her goal.

All of the characters were complex and realistic. Theodosia was a hard character to like. Even though she was intellectual and had a fondness for reading, I did not like how she treated Mary and prevented her from marrying her love, Lucas Emmons. The most fascinating character was Aaron Burr. He was really complex. He was very hot-headed and impulsive. He did many horrible things. Yet, in Mary Emmons’ eyes, he was shown to be a tragic figure who was highly instrumental in his own downfall. Thus, I still could not decide if I found him a sympathetic character or if I dislike him immensely.

Overall, this novel does justice in bringing a forgotten woman to life. The novel was meticulously well-written with vivid descriptions. It felt as if I was there during the early days of the founding of America walking alongside Mary Emmons. The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr is a page-turner, for it kept me reading until dawn trying to finish the novel. Even after I finished the novel, Mary Emmons’ story lingered with me. Therefore, this book will definitely be a re-read. The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr is a tribute to Mary Emmons. I hope that since this novel has been released there will be more scholarship on this obscure woman. The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr is a must read for fans of America's First Daughter, Sally Hemmings, and The President’s Daughter!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas