Skip to main content

In Feast or Famine (The Egyptian Chronicles #2) by Mesu Andrews: A Book Review

In Feast or Famine (The Egyptian Chronicles #2)
Author: Mesu Andrews
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Waterbrook
Release Date: May 9, 2023
Pages: 449
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Thrust into an arranged marriage, the daughter of ancient Egypt’s high priest plays a pivotal role in Joseph’s biblical narrative in this powerful novel from the award-winning author of Potiphar’s Wife.

     After four-year-old Asenath’s mother is murdered by Egypt’s foreign rulers, the child is raised to be a priestess by her overprotective father—high priest of Egypt’s sun god. For fifteen years, Asenath is sequestered in the upper levels of Ra’s temple, convinced it is her destiny to heal the land by becoming queen to the next Egyptianpharaoh. But when Egypt’s foreign king instead gives her as a bride to the newly appointed vizier—a Hebrew named Joseph—her entire world is shaken. 


     Beyond the walls of her tower, Asenath discovers treachery, deceit, and conspiracy that force her to redefine her destiny and weigh where her true loyalties lie. Can she still trust the gods of Egypt? Or is Elohim, the foreign God of her husband, the one who will heal her nation during the feast and famine to come?


     My Review: In Feast or Famine is the sequel to Potiphar’s Wife. The story focuses on Joseph’s Egyptian wife, Asenath. Asenath is an Egyptian priestess who dreams of becoming Queen of Egypt. When the Pharaoh forces her to marry Joseph, who was once a Hebrew slave and rose to become the vizier of Egypt, Asenath feels her dreams have fallen apart. Asenath must learn to love her husband, Joseph. As Asenath tries to make marriage work, she learns more about her husband’s god, Elohim.


     At first, I found Asenath a hard character to like. She is very selfish, childish, and whiny. She always threw tantrums when things didn't go her way. Therefore, I found her to be a very annoying character, and I felt sorry for Joseph because he had to marry her. Over time, Asenath gradually begins to change. She grows more mature and is wiser. I found her to be a good match for Joseph. I like how she becomes a woman of faith. Thus, Asenath really grew on me as a character.


     Joseph was one of my favorite characters in Potiphar’s Wife. I liked his immense faith. Even though he did not want to marry Asenath, he married her because it was God’s will. Therefore, Joseph was very kind, compassionate, and loyal. I like how Joseph was human and had flaws. Nevertheless, Joseph always tried to do what was right. Even though Asenath was not his choice, I also liked how he was willing to make his marriage work. Thus, Joseph was very admirable.


    Overall, this novel is about faith, marriage, and loyalty. I like all the supporting characters, and I loved revisiting some of them from Potiphar’s Wife. I did find the novel to be very slow at times. Nevertheless, I love how Mrs. Andrews made Ancient Egypt come alive! I love how there was romance, mystery, and political intrigue! I recommend this novel for fans of Dreaming in Egypt: The Story of Joseph and Asenath, Asenath: Vision of Egypt, and Joseph and Asenath!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,