Skip to main content

Goodnight from Paris by Jane Healey: A Book Review

 

Goodnight from Paris

Author: Jane Healey

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing 

Release Date: 2023

Pages: 404

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: In Nazi-occupied France, an American film star takes on the most dangerous role of her life in a gripping novel about loyalty and resistance, inspired by a true story, from the Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestselling author of The Secret Stealers.


     Paris, 1939. Hollywood actress Drue Leyton, married to Frenchman Jacques Tartière, lives as an expatriate in love. But when her husband is dispatched to Brittany to work as a liaison for the British military, Drue finds herself alone with her housekeeper, adrift and heartsick in her adopted city. With her career and fame forty-five hundred miles away, Drue accepts an opportunity that will change her life forever.


      Befriended by seasoned wartime journalist Dorothy Thompson and urged on by political operative Jean Fraysse, Drue broadcasts radio programs to the United States. Her duty: shake America from its apathy and, as Nazis encroach and France is occupied, push for resistance and help from the US. As Drue and Jean fall under suspicion, Hitler sends his own message: when Drue’s adopted country is conquered, she will be executed.


     In a Paris that is no longer safe, Drue’s political passion is ignited. She’s prepared to risk anything to fight the enemy no matter how dangerous it gets—for her, for everyone she loves, and for everything she’s fighting for.


     My Review: Drue Leyton Tatiere is a Hollywood actress who was famous for starring in the Charlie Chan films. Drue has married a Frenchman and lives in Paris. When WWII breaks out, her husband leaves to fight in the war. Drue’s agent wants her to return to America, but Drue refuses. Instead, she gets a job broadcasting a radio station to persuade America to go to war. When France is conquered, Drue’s life becomes endangered. Drue is willing to do anything to risk her life to win France’s freedom and end the war.


     I had never heard of Drue Leyton before. Thus, her story was very new to me. I loved Drue’s devotion to her husband, Jacques. Drue had many opportunities to go to America for safety and return to acting. However, she refused because she wanted to help her husband. Therefore, I admired Drue’s determination to fight for her cause. I found her to be very courageous, intelligent, and strong. She was a fascinating heroine, and I was intrigued to see what happened to her.


     Overall, this novel is about love, war, and resilience. I really loved the characters in the novel. They seemed very realistic. My favorite was Dorothy Thompson, who was a famous journalist. I also found the radio aspect in the first half of the novel to be very intriguing. I did think that the middle part of the novel tended to drag. Nevertheless, Goodnight from Paris was very enthralling and entertaining. Mrs. Healy made war-torn France come alive! The story was very engaging, and it captured my attention within the first few pages. I also loved that the novel was told in first-person! Even if you are tired of the overwhelming amount of novels set in WWII, Goodnight from Paris is definitely a must-read! It has glamor, action, and romance! I recommend this novel for fans of The Queen of Paris, The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre, and Code Name Helene!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,