Skip to main content

Mastering the Art of French Murder (An American in Paris Mystery #1) by Colleen Cambridge: A Book Review

Mastering the Art of French Murder (An American in Paris Mystery #1)

Author: Colleen Cambridge

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense

Publisher: Kensington 

Release Date: 2023

Pages: 272

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: As Paris rediscovers its joie de vivre, Tabitha Knight, recently arrived from Detroit for an extended stay with her French grandfather, is on her own journey of discovery. Paris isn’t just the City of Light; it’s the city of history, romance, stunning architecture . . . and food. Thanks to her neighbor and friend Julia Child, another ex-pat who’s fallen head over heels for Paris, Tabitha is learning how to cook for her Grandpère and Oncle Rafe.


     Between tutoring Americans in French, visiting the market, and eagerly sampling the results of Julia’s studies at Le Cordon Bleu cooking school, Tabitha’s sojourn is proving thoroughly delightful. That is, until the cold December day they return to Julia’s building and learn that a body has been found in the cellar. Tabitha recognizes the victim as a woman she’d met only the night before, at a party given by Julia’s sister, Dort. The murder weapon found nearby is recognizable too—a knife from Julia’s kitchen.


     Tabitha is eager to help the investigation, but is shocked when Inspector Merveille reveals that a note, in Tabitha’s handwriting, was found in the dead woman’s pocket. Is this murder a case of international intrigue, or something far more personal? From the shadows of the Tour Eiffel at midnight, to the tiny third-floor Child kitchen, to the grungy streets of Montmartre, Tabitha navigates through the city hoping to find the real killer before she or one of her friends ends up in prison . . . or worse.


     My Review: Tabitha has just arrived in Paris from Detroit to live with her grandfather. She quickly befriends an American expat named Julia Child, who is currently learning how to cook French food. One day, Tabitha and Julia find a body in Julia’s cellar. The police immediately suspect that Julia is the murderer. In order to clear Julia’s name, Tabitha sets out to find the real killer. As she investigates, Tabitha discovers a conspiracy is taking place under her nose. Can Tabitha expose the conspiracy before she becomes in danger and be able to clear Julia’s name?


     I found Tabitha to be a frustrating protagonist. I like how she has a passion for mysteries. However, I did not find her to be a clever heroine. She was very reckless and exposed too much information to those she suspected. She puts her trust in the wrong people and distrusts those she should have trusted. She made many careless decisions that often got her into dangerous situations. Therefore, I found her to be very disappointing. I was hoping for a smart and competent protagonist. Sadly, I got one of the silliest amateur detectives that I have encountered in cozy historical mysteries.


     Overall, this novel is about friendship, family, and conspiracies. I did like several other characters, especially Julia Child, her grandfather, and uncle. The mystery was very predictable and had no surprises. Still, I enjoyed the novel. It was very light and fast-paced and made a fun reading for a Sunday afternoon. I was also glad that there was no romance, though it hinted that there may be one in future installments. Thus, if you are a fan of cozy historical mysteries, you should definitely give this a try. I am looking forward to the sequel! I recommend this for fans of Death Below Stairs, Of Manners and Murder, and A Poisonous Journey!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I