Blog Tour: Sacred Legacy by Kat Flannery: A Book Review

02_Sacred Legacy

Sacred Legacy by Kat Flannery

Publication Date: July 31, 2016
Imajin Books
eBook & Paperback; 234 Pages

Series: The Branded Trilogy, Book 3
Genre: Historical/Romance/Western

Add to GR Button

Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Tsura is a Chuvani, and with that comes great power…

     Desperate to escape the memories that haunt her, Tsura Harris returns to Jamestown, the very place her mother forbade her to go. A gifted Chuvani, Tsura has sworn off all magick, thus making her vulnerable to the Renoldi clan, who wish to kill her and take the pendant that is the key to her power.

     Red Wolf is hell-bent on living his life on the sea, until he runs into Tsura on the docks. His pride wounded from her rejection years before, he hoped to never see her again. But when the evil Corsair, Romulus Black, demands to know where she is, Red Wolf must protect her, as is his duty.

     But is duty and honor his only reason, or does Red Wolf still carry a flame of love in his heart? And will Tsura finally discover her destiny?

     My Review: After a horrific event that haunts her, Tsura decides to start a new life in Jamestown. She is a woman that has magical powers, yet she chooses not to use them. However, there are people in Jamestown that want her dead. She also encounters people from her past. Red Wolf, her former love, has chosen to protect her from her enemies. Can the two of them find love again after a brutal break-up?

     I really liked the heroine,Tsura. She is a broken woman, who wants to start a new life. She is trying to heal from the past. Yet, she finds herself caught up with the past and is struggling to handle it. She is at times very strong and stubborn. Most of the time, she does not believe in herself. Throughout the novel, she is spent trying to find her self-confidence. I also liked her relationship with Red Wolf. Even though Red Wolf is still bitter with her over their break-up, he still chooses to protect and help her. He is very patient and stubborn also. I like how the two rekindle their relationship.

     Overall, this book is about second chances and healing. The message of this book is that there is always hope. I did like how this novel was set in a Native American tribe. I thought Sacred Legacy was meticulously researched on Native American culture and customs. However, I found the plot to lack creativity. I felt that I had read this story too many times. It was basically a Native American retelling of Persuasion. I would have liked more emphasis on the magic element. Nevertheless, it is a quick and light read. I recommend this for anyone who would like to read a sweet romance and for fans of Jane Austen, Pema Donyo, and Sarah Price.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

     “One of the few stories that captured me from beginning to end.” —USA Today bestselling author, Rosanne Bittner


Amazon | Barnes & Noble


About the Author

04_Kat Flannery

     Kat Flannery’s love of history shows in her novels. She is an avid reader of historical, suspense, paranormal, and romance. When not researching for her next book, Kat can be found running her three sons to hockey and lacrosse. She has her Certificate in Freelance and Business Writing. A member of many writing groups, Kat enjoys promoting other authors on her blog. She’s been published in numerous periodicals. Her debut novel CHASING CLOVERS has been on Amazon’s Bestsellers list many times and was #62 over all their titles. LAKOTA HONOR and BLOOD CURSE (Branded Trilogy) are Kat’s two award-winning novels and HAZARDOUS UNIONS is Kat’s first novella. Kat is currently hard at work on her next book.

     For more information please visit Kat Flannery's website. You can find Kat on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.


Giveaway

     
     To enter the Sacred Legacy Giveaway for a $100 Amazon Gift Card, please see the GLEAM form below.

Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on August 19th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open internationally.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.




04_Sacred Legacy_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Written in the Ashes by K. Hollan Van Zandt: A Book Review

Blog Tour Guest Post by K. Hollan Van Zandt: Women of The Ancient World

Guest Post by Cheryl Anne Stapp: Sacramento Women in the Pioneer Era