Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1) by Ron Vitale: A Book Review

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1)
Author: Ron Vitale
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure
Publisher: Amazon
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Pages: 219
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A sea of danger and magic. A family that can’t stay clear of the water…

     Morgan refuses to let her twin brother suffer the same fate as their whale-obsessed father Captain Ahab. Despite her efforts to keep Nathan on dry land, her brother can’t resist the siren song of the sea and rumors of untold treasures on the Island of Nightmares…

     Before Nathan can drop anchor and find his bounty, his crew encounters an ominous force. He’s convinced the creature is somehow connected to his father’s past and that one of his crew has been bitten. Could Nathan actually be on the run from a werewhale?

     As the dark island fast approaches, Nathan’s adventure could end in a watery grave. It’s up to Morgan and her father’s old crewmate Ishmael to save Nathan’s life. But can she possibly change the mind of a man with the same stubborn streak as Captain Ahab?

     Ahab’s Daughter is the rollicking first novel in The Werewhale Saga, a series of fantasy adventures. If you like tenacious heroines, supernatural twists, and high seas suspense, then you’ll love Ron Vitale’s entertaining follow-up to Herman Melville’s literary classic.

     My Review: Ahab’s Daughter is a sequel to Moby Dick. Morgan does not want her brother, Nathan,  to have the same fate as her father, Captain Ahab. When Nathan sneaks off into the middle of the night to become a sailor, Morgan disguises herself as a boy and chases after him. She enlists the help of Ishmael, her father’s old crewmate. Can Morgan save her brother or will he suffer the same fate as her father?

    Morgan is a lovable heroine. She is not a damsel in distress. She proves that she is capable of sailing the seas. As the novel progresses, Morgan falls in love with the ocean. She is stubborn, intelligent, and feisty. However, she is naive sometimes and can be too trusting. Still, she matures throughout the novel, and I loved watching her grow. I also loved the bond between Morgan and Nathan. Throughout the novel, the two siblings remain close and protective of each other, yet they both are undergoing their own self-identities and trying to forge their own paths.

   Overall, this book is about family, identity, and sacrifice. I thought all the characters were very interesting. I also like the recurring characters of Moby Dick. The only thing I did not like about Ahab’s Daughter was that it kept switching from Morgan narrating the story in first person to third person when giving details about what Nathan was up to. This switching points of view made the story very confusing. The novel was also very slow-moving, and it took almost half the book to get me interested. Once it captivated my interest, I raced to the ending. Ahab’s Daughter is filled with mystery, adventure, and action. It is filled with twists and turns that keeps you reading as it slowly reveals its secrets. Therefore, I can’t wait to read the sequel! Ahab’s Daughter is not only a great read for fans of Moby Dick, but also for fans of Air and Ash, Daughter of the Pirate King, and The Girl from Everywhere.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Interview with Ron Vitale

Blog Tour: Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper by Ana Brazil: A Book Review

The Untold Story of Queen Elizabeth, Queen Mother by Lady Colin Campbell: A Book Review