Skip to main content

The Wardrobe Mistress: A Novel of Marie Antoinette by Meghan Masterson: A Book Review

The Wardrobe Mistress: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Meghan Masterson
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Release Date: August 15th 2017
Pages: 384
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: THE WARDROBE MISTRESS is Meghan Masterson's fascinating and visceral debut, an inside look at Marie Antoinette's luxurious life in Versailles remarkably juxtaposed against life in third estate as the French Revolution gains strength. A propulsive exploration of love, loyalty, danger, and intrigue...not to be missed.

     It's Giselle Aubry's first time at court in Versailles. At sixteen, she is one of Marie Antoinette's newest undertirewomen, and in awe of the glamorous queen and her opulent palace life. A budding designer, it's a dream come true to work with the beautiful fabrics and jewels in the queen's wardrobe. But every few weeks she returns home to visit her family in Paris where rumors of revolution are growing stronger.

     From her position working in the royal household, Giselle is poised to see both sides of the revolutionary tensions erupting throughout Paris. When her uncle, a retired member of the secret du roi, a spy ring that worked for the old King, Louis XV, suggests that she casually report the Queen’s actions back to him as a game, she leaps at the chance. Spying seems like an adventure and an exciting way to privately support the revolution taking the countryside by storm. She also enjoys using her insight from Versailles in lively debates with Léon Gauvain, the handsome and idealistic revolutionary who courts her.

     But as the revolution continues to gain momentum, and Giselle grows closer to the Queen, becoming one of the few trusted servants, she finds herself dangerously torn. Violence is escalating; she must choose where her loyalty truly lies, or risk losing everything...maybe even her head.

      My Review: Giselle Aubry is an undertirewoman for Marie Antoinette. She gets a big salary and lives at the most fashionable court at Versailles. However, when the French Revolution occurs, Giselle is asked to spy on Marie Antoinette for her uncle, who was once a spy for Louis XV. While she is spying on Marie Antoinette, Giselle falls for a revolutionary named Leon. However, she still sympathizes with the queen. Thus, Giselle is torn between her duty to the royal family while warming up to ideas and hopes for the revolution.

     Giselle is idealistic. She dreams of having her own clothing shop one day. She also welcomes the French Revolution because of the change in the air. However, she is very sympathetic to the Queen and does not like how the pamphlets have portrayed her.  When she has the opportunity to spy for her uncle, she takes it thinking it could be a great adventure. However, she learns that there is more than she bargained for. While I liked Giselle for most of the novel, there were times that I thought she was a bit indecisive. However, I found her to be a very relatable character because she struggled to make the right decision despite the tough circumstances she found herself in.

     Overall, this book is about love, loyalty, and duty. While I thought that Giselle and Leon were fully developed, I thought the others were flat. I thought the romance between Giselle and Leon were a bit too instant love for my taste, and I wanted their relationship to have developed more slowly. The plot was slow moving. Also, the novel suffers from too much telling rather than showing. Because of this, I felt like I was reading more of a textbook than a novel. However, I thought the author did a great job with the historical details as well as the issues set in the novel. Therefore, this is a must-read for fans of Marie Antoinette! I recommend this novel for fans of Madame Tussaud, The Time-Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette, and Becoming Marie Antoinette.

 Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther