Skip to main content

The Wardrobe Mistress: A Novel of Marie Antoinette by Meghan Masterson: A Book Review

The Wardrobe Mistress: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Meghan Masterson
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Release Date: August 15th 2017
Pages: 384
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: THE WARDROBE MISTRESS is Meghan Masterson's fascinating and visceral debut, an inside look at Marie Antoinette's luxurious life in Versailles remarkably juxtaposed against life in third estate as the French Revolution gains strength. A propulsive exploration of love, loyalty, danger, and intrigue...not to be missed.

     It's Giselle Aubry's first time at court in Versailles. At sixteen, she is one of Marie Antoinette's newest undertirewomen, and in awe of the glamorous queen and her opulent palace life. A budding designer, it's a dream come true to work with the beautiful fabrics and jewels in the queen's wardrobe. But every few weeks she returns home to visit her family in Paris where rumors of revolution are growing stronger.

     From her position working in the royal household, Giselle is poised to see both sides of the revolutionary tensions erupting throughout Paris. When her uncle, a retired member of the secret du roi, a spy ring that worked for the old King, Louis XV, suggests that she casually report the Queen’s actions back to him as a game, she leaps at the chance. Spying seems like an adventure and an exciting way to privately support the revolution taking the countryside by storm. She also enjoys using her insight from Versailles in lively debates with Léon Gauvain, the handsome and idealistic revolutionary who courts her.

     But as the revolution continues to gain momentum, and Giselle grows closer to the Queen, becoming one of the few trusted servants, she finds herself dangerously torn. Violence is escalating; she must choose where her loyalty truly lies, or risk losing everything...maybe even her head.

      My Review: Giselle Aubry is an undertirewoman for Marie Antoinette. She gets a big salary and lives at the most fashionable court at Versailles. However, when the French Revolution occurs, Giselle is asked to spy on Marie Antoinette for her uncle, who was once a spy for Louis XV. While she is spying on Marie Antoinette, Giselle falls for a revolutionary named Leon. However, she still sympathizes with the queen. Thus, Giselle is torn between her duty to the royal family while warming up to ideas and hopes for the revolution.

     Giselle is idealistic. She dreams of having her own clothing shop one day. She also welcomes the French Revolution because of the change in the air. However, she is very sympathetic to the Queen and does not like how the pamphlets have portrayed her.  When she has the opportunity to spy for her uncle, she takes it thinking it could be a great adventure. However, she learns that there is more than she bargained for. While I liked Giselle for most of the novel, there were times that I thought she was a bit indecisive. However, I found her to be a very relatable character because she struggled to make the right decision despite the tough circumstances she found herself in.

     Overall, this book is about love, loyalty, and duty. While I thought that Giselle and Leon were fully developed, I thought the others were flat. I thought the romance between Giselle and Leon were a bit too instant love for my taste, and I wanted their relationship to have developed more slowly. The plot was slow moving. Also, the novel suffers from too much telling rather than showing. Because of this, I felt like I was reading more of a textbook than a novel. However, I thought the author did a great job with the historical details as well as the issues set in the novel. Therefore, this is a must-read for fans of Marie Antoinette! I recommend this novel for fans of Madame Tussaud, The Time-Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette, and Becoming Marie Antoinette.

 Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas