Skip to main content

Keep on Believing - A Cinderella Story: Historical Cinderella Fairy Tale (Where Dreams Come True Book 4) by Marie Higgins: A Book Review

Keep on Believing - A Cinderella Story: Historical Cinderella Fairy Tale (Where Dreams Come True Book 4)
Author: Marie Higgins
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: Amazon
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 180
Source: This book was given to me by Audiobookworm Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Taking some of the family’s jewels, Ella Spencer and her brother left the kingdom in the dead of night, escaping the clutches of their evil stepmother. Ella realized they need a different life than one of a servant. Now living in a new kingdom, Ella believes this is where they can start over again. So far, it’s working…until her brother’s school teacher starts poking his nose into their business. She cannot tell him the truth, yet deep down inside, she feels that he might be her Prince Charming after all, and be the one who’ll save her from danger.

Christopher Morgan is hiding secrets that he never plans to divulge. The sister of one of his students intrigues him, and he can’t keep from wanting to know more about her. When a man comes around asking questions, Chris fears Ella is not safe and he needs to protect her. But he finds that he is the one in need of a dream-come-true. Can he hope that Ella will be the one to rescue him out of his life before these secrets destroy him?
     
     My Review: Keep on Believing is a retelling of Cinderella. Ella and her brother, Billy, leave the clutches of their evil grandmother and decide to settle in a new kingdom with a new identity. Everything seems fine until Billy’s school teacher starts looking into Ella and her family. Ella tries to hide her secrets, but as she starts to fall for him, she wonders if she should tell him the truth. Can Ella learn to trust him and learn to believe in love?

   Ella was a very fun character. She is feisty and stubborn. She is also very practical. One thing that I love about Ella was that she definitely is not a damsel in distress and is very capable of relying on herself. Her only fault is that she spoils her brother Billy, much to his school teacher’s dismay. There were a few times that I disliked her because since she was a wealthy woman, she believed that every situation she runs into could be bought with money. I adored her romance with the school teacher, Chris. At first, they greatly disliked each other, then they gradually start to fall for each other.

   Overall, this book is about family, trust, friendship, and love. While I did think that there was not much growth to the characters, I found them all to be likable. The world-building was a bit vague. The novel is mostly told rather than shown. There were also times that I questioned Chris’s teaching practices. Still, I greatly enjoyed the novel. The narrator did a great job in voicing all the characters. It was a very entertaining story, and one that I will definitely listen to or read again. This is a charming, light retelling that is perfect for all fairy-tale fans. I recommend Keep on Believing for fans of Melanie Dickerson, K. M. Shea, and Jenni James.


Rating 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for