Skip to main content

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1) by Ron Vitale: A Book Review

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1)
Author: Ron Vitale
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure
Publisher: Amazon
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Pages: 219
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A sea of danger and magic. A family that can’t stay clear of the water…

     Morgan refuses to let her twin brother suffer the same fate as their whale-obsessed father Captain Ahab. Despite her efforts to keep Nathan on dry land, her brother can’t resist the siren song of the sea and rumors of untold treasures on the Island of Nightmares…

     Before Nathan can drop anchor and find his bounty, his crew encounters an ominous force. He’s convinced the creature is somehow connected to his father’s past and that one of his crew has been bitten. Could Nathan actually be on the run from a werewhale?

     As the dark island fast approaches, Nathan’s adventure could end in a watery grave. It’s up to Morgan and her father’s old crewmate Ishmael to save Nathan’s life. But can she possibly change the mind of a man with the same stubborn streak as Captain Ahab?

     Ahab’s Daughter is the rollicking first novel in The Werewhale Saga, a series of fantasy adventures. If you like tenacious heroines, supernatural twists, and high seas suspense, then you’ll love Ron Vitale’s entertaining follow-up to Herman Melville’s literary classic.

     My Review: Ahab’s Daughter is a sequel to Moby Dick. Morgan does not want her brother, Nathan,  to have the same fate as her father, Captain Ahab. When Nathan sneaks off into the middle of the night to become a sailor, Morgan disguises herself as a boy and chases after him. She enlists the help of Ishmael, her father’s old crewmate. Can Morgan save her brother or will he suffer the same fate as her father?

    Morgan is a lovable heroine. She is not a damsel in distress. She proves that she is capable of sailing the seas. As the novel progresses, Morgan falls in love with the ocean. She is stubborn, intelligent, and feisty. However, she is naive sometimes and can be too trusting. Still, she matures throughout the novel, and I loved watching her grow. I also loved the bond between Morgan and Nathan. Throughout the novel, the two siblings remain close and protective of each other, yet they both are undergoing their own self-identities and trying to forge their own paths.

   Overall, this book is about family, identity, and sacrifice. I thought all the characters were very interesting. I also like the recurring characters of Moby Dick. The only thing I did not like about Ahab’s Daughter was that it kept switching from Morgan narrating the story in first person to third person when giving details about what Nathan was up to. This switching points of view made the story very confusing. The novel was also very slow-moving, and it took almost half the book to get me interested. Once it captivated my interest, I raced to the ending. Ahab’s Daughter is filled with mystery, adventure, and action. It is filled with twists and turns that keeps you reading as it slowly reveals its secrets. Therefore, I can’t wait to read the sequel! Ahab’s Daughter is not only a great read for fans of Moby Dick, but also for fans of Air and Ash, Daughter of the Pirate King, and The Girl from Everywhere.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther