Skip to main content

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1) by Ron Vitale: A Book Review

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1)
Author: Ron Vitale
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure
Publisher: Amazon
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Pages: 219
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A sea of danger and magic. A family that can’t stay clear of the water…

     Morgan refuses to let her twin brother suffer the same fate as their whale-obsessed father Captain Ahab. Despite her efforts to keep Nathan on dry land, her brother can’t resist the siren song of the sea and rumors of untold treasures on the Island of Nightmares…

     Before Nathan can drop anchor and find his bounty, his crew encounters an ominous force. He’s convinced the creature is somehow connected to his father’s past and that one of his crew has been bitten. Could Nathan actually be on the run from a werewhale?

     As the dark island fast approaches, Nathan’s adventure could end in a watery grave. It’s up to Morgan and her father’s old crewmate Ishmael to save Nathan’s life. But can she possibly change the mind of a man with the same stubborn streak as Captain Ahab?

     Ahab’s Daughter is the rollicking first novel in The Werewhale Saga, a series of fantasy adventures. If you like tenacious heroines, supernatural twists, and high seas suspense, then you’ll love Ron Vitale’s entertaining follow-up to Herman Melville’s literary classic.

     My Review: Ahab’s Daughter is a sequel to Moby Dick. Morgan does not want her brother, Nathan,  to have the same fate as her father, Captain Ahab. When Nathan sneaks off into the middle of the night to become a sailor, Morgan disguises herself as a boy and chases after him. She enlists the help of Ishmael, her father’s old crewmate. Can Morgan save her brother or will he suffer the same fate as her father?

    Morgan is a lovable heroine. She is not a damsel in distress. She proves that she is capable of sailing the seas. As the novel progresses, Morgan falls in love with the ocean. She is stubborn, intelligent, and feisty. However, she is naive sometimes and can be too trusting. Still, she matures throughout the novel, and I loved watching her grow. I also loved the bond between Morgan and Nathan. Throughout the novel, the two siblings remain close and protective of each other, yet they both are undergoing their own self-identities and trying to forge their own paths.

   Overall, this book is about family, identity, and sacrifice. I thought all the characters were very interesting. I also like the recurring characters of Moby Dick. The only thing I did not like about Ahab’s Daughter was that it kept switching from Morgan narrating the story in first person to third person when giving details about what Nathan was up to. This switching points of view made the story very confusing. The novel was also very slow-moving, and it took almost half the book to get me interested. Once it captivated my interest, I raced to the ending. Ahab’s Daughter is filled with mystery, adventure, and action. It is filled with twists and turns that keeps you reading as it slowly reveals its secrets. Therefore, I can’t wait to read the sequel! Ahab’s Daughter is not only a great read for fans of Moby Dick, but also for fans of Air and Ash, Daughter of the Pirate King, and The Girl from Everywhere.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a