Skip to main content

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1) by Ron Vitale: A Book Review

Ahab's Daughter (The Werewhale Saga Book 1)
Author: Ron Vitale
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure
Publisher: Amazon
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Pages: 219
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A sea of danger and magic. A family that can’t stay clear of the water…

     Morgan refuses to let her twin brother suffer the same fate as their whale-obsessed father Captain Ahab. Despite her efforts to keep Nathan on dry land, her brother can’t resist the siren song of the sea and rumors of untold treasures on the Island of Nightmares…

     Before Nathan can drop anchor and find his bounty, his crew encounters an ominous force. He’s convinced the creature is somehow connected to his father’s past and that one of his crew has been bitten. Could Nathan actually be on the run from a werewhale?

     As the dark island fast approaches, Nathan’s adventure could end in a watery grave. It’s up to Morgan and her father’s old crewmate Ishmael to save Nathan’s life. But can she possibly change the mind of a man with the same stubborn streak as Captain Ahab?

     Ahab’s Daughter is the rollicking first novel in The Werewhale Saga, a series of fantasy adventures. If you like tenacious heroines, supernatural twists, and high seas suspense, then you’ll love Ron Vitale’s entertaining follow-up to Herman Melville’s literary classic.

     My Review: Ahab’s Daughter is a sequel to Moby Dick. Morgan does not want her brother, Nathan,  to have the same fate as her father, Captain Ahab. When Nathan sneaks off into the middle of the night to become a sailor, Morgan disguises herself as a boy and chases after him. She enlists the help of Ishmael, her father’s old crewmate. Can Morgan save her brother or will he suffer the same fate as her father?

    Morgan is a lovable heroine. She is not a damsel in distress. She proves that she is capable of sailing the seas. As the novel progresses, Morgan falls in love with the ocean. She is stubborn, intelligent, and feisty. However, she is naive sometimes and can be too trusting. Still, she matures throughout the novel, and I loved watching her grow. I also loved the bond between Morgan and Nathan. Throughout the novel, the two siblings remain close and protective of each other, yet they both are undergoing their own self-identities and trying to forge their own paths.

   Overall, this book is about family, identity, and sacrifice. I thought all the characters were very interesting. I also like the recurring characters of Moby Dick. The only thing I did not like about Ahab’s Daughter was that it kept switching from Morgan narrating the story in first person to third person when giving details about what Nathan was up to. This switching points of view made the story very confusing. The novel was also very slow-moving, and it took almost half the book to get me interested. Once it captivated my interest, I raced to the ending. Ahab’s Daughter is filled with mystery, adventure, and action. It is filled with twists and turns that keeps you reading as it slowly reveals its secrets. Therefore, I can’t wait to read the sequel! Ahab’s Daughter is not only a great read for fans of Moby Dick, but also for fans of Air and Ash, Daughter of the Pirate King, and The Girl from Everywhere.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas