Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper by Ana Brazil: A Book Review

Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper by Ana Brazil

Publication Date: November 1, 2017
Sand Hill Review Press
Formats: Paperback & eBook
Genre: Fiction/Historical/Mystery


Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Gilded Age New Orleans is overrun with prostitutes, pornographers, and a malicious Jack the Ripper copycat. As threatening letters to newspaper editors proclaim, no woman is safe from his blade.

     Desperate to know who murdered her favorite student, ambitious typewriting teacher Fanny Newcomb launches into a hunt for the self-proclaimed Irish Channel Ripper.

     Fanny quickly enlists her well-connected employers—Principal Sylvia Giddings and her sister Dr. Olive—to help, and the women forge through saloons, cemeteries, slums, and houses of prostitution in their pursuit.

     Fanny’s good intentions quickly infuriate her longtime beau Lawrence Decatur, while her reckless persistence confounds the talented police detective Daniel Crenshaw. Reluctantly, Lawrence and Daniel also lend their investigative talents to Fanny’s investigation.

     As the murderer sets a date for his next heinous crime, can Fanny Newcomb and her crew stop the Irish Channel Ripper before he kills again?

     My Review: Fanny teaches typewriting to young girls. She hopes that by learning typewriting the girls will get a good job. When a copycat of Jack the Ripper starts to make threats and claim that no woman is safe from his blade, Fanny’s students tremble with fear and are scared to attend her classes. Suddenly, Fanny’s star pupil is murdered by the copycat. This forces Fanny to investigate the truth of her student’s death. She also enlists the help of her employers; Sylvia the owner of the school, and Sylvia’s sister, Olive, who is also a female doctor, to track down the killer.

     Fanny was a likable character. She is very determined to get justice for her student. She is also very inquisitive and observant. I loved getting to know her and learning about her past. She is a kind and caring character. There were a few times that I didn’t like her. I didn’t like how she treated her beau, Lawrence. I thought she mostly manipulated him to get information from him. Thus, while I didn’t agree with the decisions she made, I still found her to be a fun character.

     I also liked Sylvia. Sylvia really is devoted to her mission of helping young girls. She also seemed to be very religious. She is also very determined to find the truth and will do whatever is necessary to find the killer. Even when she gets injured, she cares more about the investigation than her injury and is determined that the hunt is still on.

    While I like Sylvia and Fanny, my favorite character was Olive. She is bright and observant. However, I thought she was the strongest character out of the bunch. Her career is in a man’s field, and she proves that she is smarter than her fellow male doctors. Thus, I admire Olive’s persistence and find her to be the most fascinating character in the novel.

    Overall, Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper is a feminist take on the historical mystery drama. The female protagonists are smart and capable. There is also very little love story. That said, it was a refreshing read. This is not to say that the book did not have any faults. It did. The mystery was very predictable, and I knew the killer right away. There were also some slow parts, and the story was mostly told instead of shown. Still, this is a must read for fans of the genre. I recommend this novel for fans of Echoes of the Storm, A Front Page Affair, and A Deadly Affection.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Amazon | Barnes and Noble

About the Author:


     A native of California, Ana Brazil lived in the south for many years. She earned her MA in American history from Florida State University and traveled her way through Mississippi as an architectural historian. Ana loves fried mullet, Greek Revival colonnades, and Miss Welty’s garden. She has a weakness for almost all things New Orleans. (Although she’s not sure just how it happened…but she favors bluegrass over jazz.)

     The Fanny Newcomb stories celebrate the tenacity, intelligence, and wisdom of the dozens of courageous and outrageous southern women that Ana is proud to call friends.

     Although Ana, her husband, and their dog Traveller live in the beautiful Oakland foothills, she is forever drawn to the lush mystique of New Orleans, where Fanny Newcomb and her friends are ever prepared to seek a certain justice.

     For more information, please visit Ana Brazil's website and blog. You can also find her on Facebook, Pinterest and Goodreads.

Giveaway:

     During the Blog Tour we will be giving away a paperback copy of Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper! To enter, please enter via the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on December 15th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther