Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper by Ana Brazil: A Book Review

Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper by Ana Brazil

Publication Date: November 1, 2017
Sand Hill Review Press
Formats: Paperback & eBook
Genre: Fiction/Historical/Mystery


Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Gilded Age New Orleans is overrun with prostitutes, pornographers, and a malicious Jack the Ripper copycat. As threatening letters to newspaper editors proclaim, no woman is safe from his blade.

     Desperate to know who murdered her favorite student, ambitious typewriting teacher Fanny Newcomb launches into a hunt for the self-proclaimed Irish Channel Ripper.

     Fanny quickly enlists her well-connected employers—Principal Sylvia Giddings and her sister Dr. Olive—to help, and the women forge through saloons, cemeteries, slums, and houses of prostitution in their pursuit.

     Fanny’s good intentions quickly infuriate her longtime beau Lawrence Decatur, while her reckless persistence confounds the talented police detective Daniel Crenshaw. Reluctantly, Lawrence and Daniel also lend their investigative talents to Fanny’s investigation.

     As the murderer sets a date for his next heinous crime, can Fanny Newcomb and her crew stop the Irish Channel Ripper before he kills again?

     My Review: Fanny teaches typewriting to young girls. She hopes that by learning typewriting the girls will get a good job. When a copycat of Jack the Ripper starts to make threats and claim that no woman is safe from his blade, Fanny’s students tremble with fear and are scared to attend her classes. Suddenly, Fanny’s star pupil is murdered by the copycat. This forces Fanny to investigate the truth of her student’s death. She also enlists the help of her employers; Sylvia the owner of the school, and Sylvia’s sister, Olive, who is also a female doctor, to track down the killer.

     Fanny was a likable character. She is very determined to get justice for her student. She is also very inquisitive and observant. I loved getting to know her and learning about her past. She is a kind and caring character. There were a few times that I didn’t like her. I didn’t like how she treated her beau, Lawrence. I thought she mostly manipulated him to get information from him. Thus, while I didn’t agree with the decisions she made, I still found her to be a fun character.

     I also liked Sylvia. Sylvia really is devoted to her mission of helping young girls. She also seemed to be very religious. She is also very determined to find the truth and will do whatever is necessary to find the killer. Even when she gets injured, she cares more about the investigation than her injury and is determined that the hunt is still on.

    While I like Sylvia and Fanny, my favorite character was Olive. She is bright and observant. However, I thought she was the strongest character out of the bunch. Her career is in a man’s field, and she proves that she is smarter than her fellow male doctors. Thus, I admire Olive’s persistence and find her to be the most fascinating character in the novel.

    Overall, Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper is a feminist take on the historical mystery drama. The female protagonists are smart and capable. There is also very little love story. That said, it was a refreshing read. This is not to say that the book did not have any faults. It did. The mystery was very predictable, and I knew the killer right away. There were also some slow parts, and the story was mostly told instead of shown. Still, this is a must read for fans of the genre. I recommend this novel for fans of Echoes of the Storm, A Front Page Affair, and A Deadly Affection.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Amazon | Barnes and Noble

About the Author:


     A native of California, Ana Brazil lived in the south for many years. She earned her MA in American history from Florida State University and traveled her way through Mississippi as an architectural historian. Ana loves fried mullet, Greek Revival colonnades, and Miss Welty’s garden. She has a weakness for almost all things New Orleans. (Although she’s not sure just how it happened…but she favors bluegrass over jazz.)

     The Fanny Newcomb stories celebrate the tenacity, intelligence, and wisdom of the dozens of courageous and outrageous southern women that Ana is proud to call friends.

     Although Ana, her husband, and their dog Traveller live in the beautiful Oakland foothills, she is forever drawn to the lush mystique of New Orleans, where Fanny Newcomb and her friends are ever prepared to seek a certain justice.

     For more information, please visit Ana Brazil's website and blog. You can also find her on Facebook, Pinterest and Goodreads.

Giveaway:

     During the Blog Tour we will be giving away a paperback copy of Fanny Newcomb and the Irish Channel Ripper! To enter, please enter via the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on December 15th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a