Skip to main content

Blog Tour: The Sisters of Versailles (Mistresses of Versailles, Book One) by Sally Christie: A Book Review

01_The Sisters of VersaillesThe Sisters of Versailles (Mistresses of Versailles, Book One) by Sally Christie

Publication Date: September 1, 2015 Publisher: Atria Books/Simon & Schuster Formats: Ebook, Paperback Pages: 432 ISBN-10: 1501102966 Genre: Historical Fiction READ AN EXCERPT.

Add to GR Button     
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France’s most “well-beloved” monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed.

     Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.


     Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters: Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne, four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.


     Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot – and women – forward. The King’s scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters:sweet, naive Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne, will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power.


     In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood; of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.


     My Review: The Sisters of Versailles takes place in the early reign of Louis XV. It chronicles the lives of the Nesle sisters: Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne. Four of the sisters became mistresses to Louis XV one right after the other (Hortense by choice decided not to be the king’s mistress). These four sisters compete with one another as they yearn for the king’s attention and power. Set in the rich glittering court of Versailles, this tells us the story not only of the four sisters, but the decadence and lavishness of the French court that leaves a foreshadowing of the French Revolution that takes place decades later.

     The problem that I had with this book is that none of the characters are likable. Each of the chapters is told in first person by the five sisters with a lot of epistolary sections with the sisters writing to each other. I found all the sisters to be selfish. I did not really see them to have a sisterly bond with one another. They were mostly thinking about themselves and often used each other to get what they want. It was really hard to root for them. However, while these sisters had their flaws, it is obvious that they are powerful. They had the ability to choose a life for themselves. They were behind the scenes manipulating the king and the French court. They were able to dictate powerful advance marriages and to have the choice to be the king’s mistress. Therefore, these sisters were strong and powerful within the court.

     Because it was told from the sisters point of view, it was hard to know who Louis XV truly was. Even though the sisters try to compete for the king’s attention, Louis XV seems to be a pawn for their ambitions. It is hard to determine the human aspect of the king because he remains elusive. He seems distant and unapproachable to the reader. Therefore, there needs to be more character development on him so the readers can get a glimpse of the true king, rather than a puppet whom the sisters use to get what they want.

     Overall, this is a feminist retelling about the splendid court of Versailles during the reign of Louis XV. Because I have read many books about Marie Antoinette that feature Louis XV as old and fat, it is refreshing to see him as a young, energetic, handsome young man. This novel is a juicy read that is filled with court intrigue, drama, scandal, betrayal, and rivalry. This novel gives us lavish details about the everyday life within Versailles. There is a trilogy that tells us about the other lives of Louis XV’s mistresses, some that are more famous than others. I feel like this series is a great introduction to life in Versailles before Marie Antoinette and the French Revolution. I recommend this novel to fans of Sister Queens by Sophie Perinot, Four Sisters, All Queens by Sherry Jones, The Marie Antoinette trilogy by Juliet Grey, and Nefertiti by Michelle Moran.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

ADVANCE PRAISE


"A stunning breadth of period detail, offered in a fresh, contemporary voice."-Juliet Grey, author of the acclaimed Marie Antoinette trilogy

"Sally Christie's The Sisters of Versailles is an intriguing romp through Louis XV's France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." -Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress


AMAZON US | AMAZON CAN | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOKS-A-MILLION | CHAPTERS | ITUNES | INDIEBOUND | KOBO


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


04_Sally Christie_Author


     I'm a life-long history buff - and I mean life-long. One of the first adult books I read was Antonia Fraser's masterful Mary, Queen of Scots. Wow! That book just blew my little ten year old mind: something about the way it brought the past right back to life, made it live again on the page. I date my obsession with history to that time, but I'd been writing ("writing") ever since I was able to hold a pencil. If you'd told my 12-year old self that I'd not be a writer when I grew up, I would have laughed you out of the tree house. With a few detours along the way, to work overseas in consulting and development, as well as to go to business school, I've finally come full circle to where I think I should be. I currently live in Toronto and when I'm not writing, I'm playing lots of tennis; doing random historical research (old census records are my favorite); playing Scrabble, and squirrel-watching (the room where I write has French doors leading out to a deck; I avidly follow, and feed, a scruffy gang). For more information please visit Sally Christie's website. You can also find her on Goodreads and Pinterest.


BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, September 14
Review at Reading the Past

Tuesday, September 15

Review at Book Lovers Paradise
Interview & Giveaway at Mina's Bookshelf

Wednesday, September 16
 Review at Bookish

Thursday, September 17

 Review at The Book Binder's Daughter

Friday, September 18

Review & Giveaway at The True Book Addict
Review at History From a Woman's Perspective

Saturday, September 19

Spotlight at Romantic Historical Reviews

Monday, September 21

Review at Leeanna.me

Tuesday, September 22

Spotlight at Historical Fiction Connection

Wednesday, September 23

Review & Giveaway at History Undressed

Thursday, September 24

Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past

Friday, September 25

Spotlight at Historical Readings & Views

Monday, September 28
Review & Giveaway at View From the Birdhouse


Tuesday, September 29
Review at So Many Books, So Little Time


Thursday, October 1 
Review at Genre Queen 
Review at bookramblings 

Friday, October 2 
Review at Curling Up By the Fire 

Monday, October 5 
Review at Ageless Pages Reviews 

Tuesday, October 6 
Review at Just One More Chapter 

Wednesday, October 7 
Review at The Lit Bitch 

Thursday, October 8 
Interview & Giveaway at Reading Lark 

Friday, October 9 
Review & Giveaway at Historical Fiction Obsession

05_The Sisters of Versailles_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I