Skip to main content

Daughter of a Thousand Years by Amalia Carosella: A Book Review

Daughter of a Thousand Years
Author: Amalia Carosella
Genre: Historical Fiction, Contemporary
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Release Date: February 21, 2017
Pages: 444
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Greenland, AD 1000

     More than her fiery hair marks Freydís as the daughter of Erik the Red; her hot temper and fierce pride are as formidable as her Viking father’s. And so, too, is her devotion to the great god Thor, which puts her at odds with those in power—including her own brother, the zealous Leif Eriksson. Determined to forge her own path, she defies her family’s fury and clings to her dream of sailing away to live on her own terms, with or without the support of her husband.

     New Hampshire, 2016

     Like her Icelandic ancestors, history professor Emma Moretti is a passionate defender of Norse mythology. But in a small town steeped in traditional values, her cultural beliefs could jeopardize both her academic career and her congressman father’s reelection. Torn between public expectation and personal identity, family and faith, she must choose which to honor and which to abandon.

     In a dramatic, sweeping dual narrative that spans a millennium, two women struggle against communities determined to silence them, but neither Freydís nor Emma intends to give up without a fight.

     My Review: Daughter of a Thousand Years tells the story of two women separated by time, who struggle to stay true to their Norse religion during the prevalence of Christianity. Freydis is a Viking, who finds herself at odds with her family as she strives to make her own dreams come true. Emma, a contemporary woman, is a history professor, who also finds herself at odds with her family, friends, and society as she struggles to choose which faith she must believe in. Can these two women manage to stay true to their beliefs and religion, or do they have to conform to society in order to find happiness?

     Lately, Amalia Carosella has not lived up to her Helen of Sparta duology. I found Tamer of Horses to be less enjoyable because I didn’t like the main characters. I decided to give this one a chance because I love the Viking era. While I did love the historical aspect in this novel, I would have enjoyed it more if it wasn’t for the contemporary aspect. However, since the contemporary aspect takes up half the book. I have to say that this was the least enjoyable book I have read so far from her.

    Freydis was a very likable character. I really loved her storyline, and wished that this book would solely be focused on her. Freydis is a strong character. She is iron-willed, determined, and courageous. She never stops fighting to make her dreams come true even in the face of adversity. Emma, on the other hand, was a very frustrating character. She is more of a damsel in distress. She doesn’t stand up for herself and relies on others to save her. She is also very compliant. In many ways, she was the opposite of Freydis. Emma’s storyline was very unrealistic and unappealing. It also had an instant romance that lacked development and chemistry.

       Overall, this story is about two women striving to make their dreams come true. The message of this book is to always be yourself. Half of these characters did not have significant development. I did like the author’s writing style, and liked the setting for these characters. While I did not enjoy this story as much as I loved her Helen of Sparta’s duology, Amalia Carosella is a promising author. Thus, I still look forward to read her future historical fiction novels. While this book was not her best work, I think that this story will appeal to fans of Anne Fortier’s The Lost Sisterhood, Helen Bryant’s The Sisterhood, and Lisa Jewell’s Before I Met You.

Rating: 2½  out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a