Skip to main content

The Library of Light and Shadow (Daughters of La Lune #3) by M. J. Rose: A Book Review

The Library of Light and Shadow (Daughters of La Lune #3)
Author: M. J. Rose
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal
Publisher: Atria
Release Date: July 18, 2017
Pages: 368
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
 Synopsis: In this riveting and richly drawn novel from “one of the master storytellers of historical fiction” (New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams), a talented young artist flees New York for the South of France after one of her scandalous drawings reveals a dark secret—and triggers a terrible tragedy.

     In the wake of a dark and brutal World War, the glitz and glamour of 1925 Manhattan shine like a beacon for the high society set, desperate to keep their gaze firmly fixed to the future. But Delphine Duplessi sees more than most. At a time in her career when she could easily be unknown and penniless, like so many of her classmates from L’École des Beaux Arts, in America she has gained notoriety for her stunning “shadow portraits” that frequently expose her subjects’ most scandalous secrets. Most nights Delphine doesn’t mind that her gift has become mere entertainment—a party trick—for the fashionable crowd.

     Then, on a snowy night in February, in a penthouse high above Fifth Avenue, Delphine’s mystical talent leads to a tragedy between two brothers. Devastated and disconsolate, Delphine renounces her gift and returns to her old life in the south of France where Picasso, Matisse, and the Fitzgeralds are summering. There, Delphine is thrust into recapturing the past. First by her charismatic twin brother and business manager Sebastian who attempts to cajole her back to work and into co-dependence, then by the world famous opera singer Emma Calvé, who is obsessed with the writings of the fourteenth-century alchemist Nicolas Flamel. And finally by her ex-lover Mathieu, who is determined to lure her back into his arms, unaware of the danger that led Delphine to flee Paris for New York five years before.

     Trapped in an ancient chateau where hidden knowledge lurks in the shadows, Delphine questions everything and everyone she loves the most—her art, her magick, her family, and Mathieu—in an effort to accept them as the gifts they are. Only there can she shed her fear of loving and living with her eyes wide open.

     My Review: Delphine Duplessi has a gift of exposing people’s secrets through painting. At a party in Manhattan, Delphine’s gift causes a rift between two brothers that leads to a tragedy. Feeling responsible for the incident, Delphine declares to never use her gift and falls into a deep depression. Her twin brother decides to bring Delphine back to France to help bring her back to spirits. Delphine finds a new client, an opera singer, who is obsessed with finding The Book of Abraham by Nicolas Flamel that will reveal the secrets of immortality. When Delphine arrives at the chateau to help look for the missing book, she discovers magic, mystery, and danger lie within the castle’s walls.

    Delphine is truly a complex character. She is very vulnerable. She is insecure and afraid. She wonders if her gifts are truly good or if it will only bring pain to others. Because of her doubts about her abilities, she wants to live her life without using them. However, she realizes that her gifts are a part of her. Therefore, Delphine constantly struggles trying to love and be happy with herself. Because of Delphine’s inner conflict, I empathized with her. I rooted for her to come to terms with herself and find her own happiness. Thus, in the Daughters of La Lune series, Delphine is my favorite character so far!

   Overall, this book is about love, loss, and recovery. The message of this book is about coming to terms with one’s self. It is also about letting go of the past and looking to the future. The characters are very compelling, and I wanted to learn more about the secrets that each of them wish to hide. I also loved the mystery and the quest surrounding the novel. The author gave us more information about the ghost of La Lune and answered some questions that I had in The Witch of Painted Sorrows. The only things I disliked about the novel was that it had a slow start, and too many flashbacks. Also, I wanted to know more about Opaline after The Secret Languages of Stones. The writing was very lyrical and evocative, and it sucked me in from the first page! M.J. Rose’s writing will literally take your breath away! I cannot recommend this novel highly enough! Daughters of La Lune may be one of my favorite series. I want to go back and reread these books again. This series is perfect for fans of The Other Side of Midnight, The Architect of Song, and Named of the Dragon.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas