Skip to main content

Blog Tour: The Other Alcott by Elise Hooper: A Book Review

The Other Alcott

by Elise Hooper Publication Date: September 5, 2017 Genres: Historical Fiction




Publisher: William Morrow
Release Date: September 5, 2017
Pages: 432
Source: This book was given to me by IndieSage PR Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. 
Synopsis: Elise Hooper’s debut novel conjures the fascinating, untold story of May Alcott—Louisa’s youngest sister and an artist in her own right.

     We all know the story of the March sisters, heroines of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women. But while everyone cheers on Jo March, based on Louisa herself, Amy March is often the least favorite sister. Now, it’s time to learn the truth about the real “Amy”, Louisa’s sister, May.

     Stylish, outgoing, creative, May Alcott grows up longing to experience the wide world beyond Concord, Massachusetts. While her sister Louisa crafts stories, May herself is a talented and dedicated artist, taking lessons in Boston, turning down a marriage proposal from a well-off suitor, and facing scorn for entering what is very much a man’s profession.

     Life for the Alcott family has never been easy, so when Louisa’s Little Women is published, its success eases the financial burdens they’d faced for so many years. Everyone agrees the novel is charming, but May is struck to the core by the portrayal of selfish, spoiled “Amy March.” Is this what her beloved sister really thinks of her?

     So May embarks on a quest to discover her own true identity, as an artist and a woman. From Boston to Rome, London, and Paris, this brave, talented, and determined woman forges an amazing life of her own, making her so much more than merely “The Other Alcott.”

     “Elise Hooper’s thoroughly modern debut gives a fresh take on one of literature’s most beloved families. To read this book is to understand why the women behind Little Women continue to cast a long shadow on our imaginations and dreams. Hooper is a writer to watch!”—Elisabeth Egan, author of A Window Opens


     My Review: The Other Alcott tells the little known story of May Alcott, the woman who inspired Amy March. May is displeased when she discovers that Louisa has based the spoiled and petulant Amy March on her. When Louisa’s book becomes a success, she learns that critics have panned scathing reviews on the illustrations that May has drawn for the book. Discouraged by the bad reviews, May wants to become a successful artist in her own right. She takes art classes to improve her art. Little does she know that she will face many hardships in order to make her dream come true.

   May Alcott is a likable protagonist. She is a romantic and an idealist. She is an optimist and does not let hardships get the best of her! Therefore, May had a strong and feisty spirit. There were some aspects of May’s character that I did not like about her. She is really selfish, jealous, spoiled, and can be unforgiving. Still, I like how she is a hard worker and is very passionate about her art! As she matures, her art also matures and improves. I liked seeing her growth as she makes her way in the art world.

     I found the relationship between Louisa and May to be endearing. The two sisters have their ups and downs throughout their relationship, but still they have an unbreakable bond. Even though May and Louisa were well-developed, I thought the supporting characters were not. The supporting characters were very one-dimensional. Most of her friends were so alike that I could not tell any of them apart except for their names. The last part of the book seemed very rushed and the author did not take the time to establish May’s romance with Ernest. I did not know why Ernest were so different from the other men in May’s life that she would give up her beliefs of remaining single to marry him. 

  Overall, this book is about family, hardships, love, and sacrifice. The message of the novel is to never give up on your dreams. While the characters needed more work,  I thought the author did a great job of detailing the art world in May’s era. I liked the hardships that many women artists went through. Some of them would have to give up the idea of marrying in order to pursue their passion for art. These women artists that made cameos in this novel are largely forgotten, and I find it to be quite sad that we have never heard of these fascinating women. I really appreciate how the author tells their stories in The Other Alcott. Hopefully, now that many people will read The Other Alcott, these women will be brought out of obscurity. I recommend The Other Alcott not only for fans of Louisa May Alcott and art enthusiasts, but also for fans of Georgia, Rodin’s Lover, and Madame Picasso.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

About Elise Hooper

 


     Although a New Englander by birth (and at heart), Elise now lives with her husband and two young daughters within stone-skipping distance of the Pacific Northwest’s Puget Sound. When she’s not writing, she’s in her classroom making American history and literature interesting for high school students. Want to try your hand at creating a pitch for Shark Tank: Colonial America Edition? Stop by her classroom.

     The Other Alcott is Elise’s debut novel and will be released by William Morrow/Harper Collins in September 2017.





Comments

  1. I've always thought it would be difficult to end up as a character in someone else's novel ... I imagine it would be rather uncomfortable to wonder how much of the character is based on me and how much comes the the author's imagination.

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a