Skip to main content

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1) by Julie C. Dao

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
Author: Julie C. Dao
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Philomel Books
Release Date: October 10, 2017
Pages: 377
Source: Personal Collection
Synopsis: The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress.

     Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

     Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and  exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. 

     Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

     My Review: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is an origin story of the Evil Queen in “Snow White” set in a country that strongly resembles ancient China. Xifeng is a peasant girl who dreams of becoming Empress. She believes that her destiny relies on this glorious future. The only obstacle standing in her way is a peasant named Wei, her childhood friend and love. As Xifeng gets closer to her goal, she realizes that she must decide to give up not only Wei, but also a part of herself and her beliefs. Must Xifeng become the heartless dark queen that she was destined to be or could she become Empress by not taking a dark path?

     As someone who loves reading and writing about ancient imperial China (You can read my history articles on ancient China here), Forest of A Thousand Lanterns seemed to be right up my alley. As soon as it hit release day, I quickly bought it, hoping that I would love it and be one of my favorite reads. However, this novel did not meet my expectations. It took me almost two months to finish this book, and I struggled picking it up again. Instead of reading for enjoyment, it became a book I read just to get it over with.

     Xifeng did not feel like a fully fleshed out character. Because this is a villain origin story, I knew that I would go into the book knowing the nature of the main character. However, Xifeng was a character that I never really got to know. I never understood her motivations for becoming the evil queen. She was mostly a passive character in her own story with no depth and conflicts to her actions. I did not understand why she wanted to be empress. Her ambitions were never explained. She seemed to be just a plot device to move the story forward and never a complex character.

     Overall, this story is about love, sacrifice, and ambition. I thought that the rest of the characters were very stereotypical. It had a promising premise but was not executed well. There was not much of a plot, and most of the novel seemed to be filler. Therefore, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns reads like a long drawn out prologue. The good points of this book was that I love the author’s lyrical writing, and it piqued my interest in the sequel. While Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is certainly not the best debut novel of 2017, I still look forward to reading more of the author’s work to see if she has improved. I recommend this novel for fans of The Star-Touched Queen, Flame in the Mist, and Shadows on the Moon.

Rating: 2½ out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot