Skip to main content

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1) by Julie C. Dao

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
Author: Julie C. Dao
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Philomel Books
Release Date: October 10, 2017
Pages: 377
Source: Personal Collection
Synopsis: The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress.

     Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

     Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and  exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins--sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. 

     Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

     My Review: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is an origin story of the Evil Queen in “Snow White” set in a country that strongly resembles ancient China. Xifeng is a peasant girl who dreams of becoming Empress. She believes that her destiny relies on this glorious future. The only obstacle standing in her way is a peasant named Wei, her childhood friend and love. As Xifeng gets closer to her goal, she realizes that she must decide to give up not only Wei, but also a part of herself and her beliefs. Must Xifeng become the heartless dark queen that she was destined to be or could she become Empress by not taking a dark path?

     As someone who loves reading and writing about ancient imperial China (You can read my history articles on ancient China here), Forest of A Thousand Lanterns seemed to be right up my alley. As soon as it hit release day, I quickly bought it, hoping that I would love it and be one of my favorite reads. However, this novel did not meet my expectations. It took me almost two months to finish this book, and I struggled picking it up again. Instead of reading for enjoyment, it became a book I read just to get it over with.

     Xifeng did not feel like a fully fleshed out character. Because this is a villain origin story, I knew that I would go into the book knowing the nature of the main character. However, Xifeng was a character that I never really got to know. I never understood her motivations for becoming the evil queen. She was mostly a passive character in her own story with no depth and conflicts to her actions. I did not understand why she wanted to be empress. Her ambitions were never explained. She seemed to be just a plot device to move the story forward and never a complex character.

     Overall, this story is about love, sacrifice, and ambition. I thought that the rest of the characters were very stereotypical. It had a promising premise but was not executed well. There was not much of a plot, and most of the novel seemed to be filler. Therefore, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns reads like a long drawn out prologue. The good points of this book was that I love the author’s lyrical writing, and it piqued my interest in the sequel. While Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is certainly not the best debut novel of 2017, I still look forward to reading more of the author’s work to see if she has improved. I recommend this novel for fans of The Star-Touched Queen, Flame in the Mist, and Shadows on the Moon.

Rating: 2½ out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to