Skip to main content

Stolen by Jessica Titone: A Book Review

Stolen
Author: Jessica Titone
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Jessica Titone
Release Date: November 24, 2017
Pages: 232
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In the twilight days of World War II, seventeen year old Ella's heart is broken when her partner, Jesse, mysteriously vanishes from their London ballet school. A search for him proves futile, leaving Ella to take matters into her own hands. Lured by a strange melody, she ventures through an old attic door and emerges in an idyllic, magical land. There she meets Wren, who instills in her the ways of the forest and fear of the mountain queen. The quest to rescue her lost love forces Ella down a path that questions her loyalty, tests her fortitude, and examines her heart's deepest desires.

     My Review: Ella is a student at a ballet academy that dreams of becoming a ballerina. She falls for her partner, Jesse. Just before their romance begins, Jesse disappears without a trace. Heartbroken, Ella is determined to find him. During her search, she stumbles upon a magical new land called Arcadia. She learns that Jesse is a prisoner of the realm’s queen. Can Ella rescue him or will she lose him for good?

      Ella is a fun and lovable character. She is very ambitious and loves to read poems. At times, she can be strange because she loves to talk to herself. However, she always likes to see the good in others. I really thought her character grows when she is in Arcadia. She is forced to make hard decisions and to trust in others. It was interesting to see how Ella matures into a strong heroine. Ella is not a person who gives up easily. Thus, Ella is a tough character, and I kept rooting for her to find happiness.

     Overall, this book is about friendship, loss, and choices. I thought the characters were well-developed. However, I thought the kindling romance between Jesse and Ella was rushed and would have liked it to have developed more slowly. I also did not get a good grasp of the world-building of Arcadia and would have liked a more explanation of the world. The plot was a bit slow-moving at times. However, it was full of magic and mystery that kept me at the edge of my seat reading! I wanted to find out what would happen to Ella in the end! It was a very heart-wrenching story that captivated me from the first page. While it has a satisfactory ending, I would love to have a sequel. I want to see what the aftermath of the journey lies in wake of these characters. Stolen was a beautiful emotional story that is perfect for fans of fantasy and fairy-tale lovers. I recommend this for fans of The Snow Queen, Sun, Moon, Ice and Snow, and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas