Skip to main content

Stolen by Jessica Titone: A Book Review

Stolen
Author: Jessica Titone
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Jessica Titone
Release Date: November 24, 2017
Pages: 232
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In the twilight days of World War II, seventeen year old Ella's heart is broken when her partner, Jesse, mysteriously vanishes from their London ballet school. A search for him proves futile, leaving Ella to take matters into her own hands. Lured by a strange melody, she ventures through an old attic door and emerges in an idyllic, magical land. There she meets Wren, who instills in her the ways of the forest and fear of the mountain queen. The quest to rescue her lost love forces Ella down a path that questions her loyalty, tests her fortitude, and examines her heart's deepest desires.

     My Review: Ella is a student at a ballet academy that dreams of becoming a ballerina. She falls for her partner, Jesse. Just before their romance begins, Jesse disappears without a trace. Heartbroken, Ella is determined to find him. During her search, she stumbles upon a magical new land called Arcadia. She learns that Jesse is a prisoner of the realm’s queen. Can Ella rescue him or will she lose him for good?

      Ella is a fun and lovable character. She is very ambitious and loves to read poems. At times, she can be strange because she loves to talk to herself. However, she always likes to see the good in others. I really thought her character grows when she is in Arcadia. She is forced to make hard decisions and to trust in others. It was interesting to see how Ella matures into a strong heroine. Ella is not a person who gives up easily. Thus, Ella is a tough character, and I kept rooting for her to find happiness.

     Overall, this book is about friendship, loss, and choices. I thought the characters were well-developed. However, I thought the kindling romance between Jesse and Ella was rushed and would have liked it to have developed more slowly. I also did not get a good grasp of the world-building of Arcadia and would have liked a more explanation of the world. The plot was a bit slow-moving at times. However, it was full of magic and mystery that kept me at the edge of my seat reading! I wanted to find out what would happen to Ella in the end! It was a very heart-wrenching story that captivated me from the first page. While it has a satisfactory ending, I would love to have a sequel. I want to see what the aftermath of the journey lies in wake of these characters. Stolen was a beautiful emotional story that is perfect for fans of fantasy and fairy-tale lovers. I recommend this for fans of The Snow Queen, Sun, Moon, Ice and Snow, and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a