Skip to main content

Isabella Unashamed: An Alternative History by Helen R. Davis and Carolina Casas: A Book Review

Isabella Unashamed: An Alternative History
Author: Helen R. Davis and Carolina Casas
Genre: Alternative Historical Fiction
Publisher: Editorial Calíope
Release Date: September 7, 2017
Pages: 144
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Isabella of Castile is known as Europe’s first great queen. Renowned for her marriage to Ferdinand of Aragon and birthing of modern day Spain, Isabella is also known as the queen who launched the Inquisition, completed the Reconquista and expelled the Jews from her nation. Not long after her triumph in 1492, her dynasty came apart and unraveled, and it was whispered by many that the Trastamara line was cursed.

     But, What if Isabella had been wiser and not expelled the Jews, some of the very people who ironically helped put her on the throne of Castile? What if Isabella had had more foresight and had her successor be Catalina, who, although the youngest, was the most like her and the wisest of her children? How would the power balance of 15th and 16th century Europe shifted if Catalina had been the powerful queen regnant of Spain and not one of the ‘merry wives’ of Windsor?

     A joint effort, Isabella Unashamed is written by two authors from very different cultural backgrounds who have nonetheless joined together to create a haunting portrait of Spain’s most famous queen, as well as a glimpse of what might have been had Isabella been wiser.

     My Review: Isabella of Castile is known to be Europe’s first Renaissance queen. However, she is also famous for starting the Spanish Inquisition. In this alternate history of Queen Isabella, she never launches the Inquisition and lets the Jews remain in peaceful Spain. This alternate history novel also ads another twist to the tale. Instead of letting Isabella’s mad daughter, Juana, become the heir apparent, Isabella has chosen her youngest daughter, Catalina (Catherine of Aragon), who is known in history as one of the ill fated wives of Henry VIII, to be the next queen of Spain.

   I thought that Isabella is portrayed very accurately as history portrays her. She is very religious and often prays for God’s guidance to do the right thing. Queen Isabella is also a very stubborn and, at times, unforgiving woman. She is portrayed as a good ruler with sound judgement. However, at the heart of the calculating ruler, she is still a mother. She wants her children to lead happy and prosperous lives. I could empathize with her when she experiences many tragedies that she worked hard to prevent. Thus, Isabella seemed very real and human.

  Overall, I thought this was a well-done alternate history on Queen Isabella. What I loved best about this book was the relationship between Isabella and Ferdinand. Both of them relied and depended on each other. They seemed like they were genuine soulmates. I thought it a bit far-fetched that Queen Isabella and Ferdinand would neglect the line of succession and choose Catalina based on her abilities. However, as a Tudor fanatic, I loved that it gave Catalina a more happy ending. While I was satisfied with the ending, I hope that the authors will write a sequel that focuses on Catalina’s rule. The only thing I did not like about Isabella Unashamed was that it suffered too much from telling instead of showing. Other than that, Isabella Unashamed is a treat for fans of Catherine of Aragon! I greatly recommend this book for fans of The Queen’s Vow, Reign of Madness, and The Constant Princess.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

  1. I really appreciate this review!

    We are working on a sequel to Isabella Unashamed as we speak. It involves Juana and Catalina at war and Henry jilting Eleanor of Austria among other things!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review, Lauralee! Thanks so much for hosting Helen & Carolina's Blog Tour!

    Amy
    HF Virtual Book Tours

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot