Skip to main content

The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen by J. Lynn Else: A Book Review

The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen
Author: J. Lynn Else
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: J. Lynn Else
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 558
Source: Personal Collection
Synopsis: "I am King Tut’s wife, but my name is barely a whisper in history’s memory. I was the last of my family to survive the Aten revolution. I had a child at age 12 and was forced to marry three times. But that didn’t mean my story ended badly. My name is Ankhesenamun, my loved ones called me An, and I will stop at nothing to save my family."

     Despite the vast treasure found in Pharaoh Tutankhamun’s tomb, there is little left over regarding his bride. From the turbulence of her father’s reign, Akhenaten, who forced monotheism on the country to the mending of these wounds by the now-famous Tutankhamun, her life saw more change than most ancient Egyptians dared even dream about. Evidence left to us about her is this: She was forced to marry her father, her brother, and her grandfather. She gave birth to one healthy baby girl and two stillborn girls. She was widowed at age 12 and 23. She saw four pharaohs crowned within 23 years. After her grandfather took the throne, she disappeared from history. 

     Ankhesenamun grew up a princess and became a queen at age 13. Her husband, Tutankhamun, was 9. With outside forces try to influence every choice they make, Ankhesenamun finds herself torn between her heart and her duty.

     With a twist of biblical history interlaced, Ankhesenamun’s voice has a new song to sing which has otherwise been forgotten. Her story weaves through the sands of time as in each chapter, she narrates her past and the path her life has been directed to take. Between chapters, Ankhesenamun is dealing with the repercussions of her husband’s death as power-hungry men are grappling for pharaoh’s crown. 

     Can a lone woman stand against the tides of time which have already consumed her parents, her sisters, and her husband? Will she find a way to overcome the most terrible of all fates -- having her name erased from the walls of history? May the gods have mercy that she does not become one of the forgotten...

     My Review: Ankhesenamun is the third daughter of Akhenaten and Nefertiti. Her early life was happy until her father becomes obsessed with giving birth to a healthy son. She watches in horror as her father commits atrocious crimes for his god, Aten. Once Tutankhamun becomes king, it seems that her nightmare is over and a peaceful era has begun. She marries Tutankhamun and becomes his queen. However, Ankhesenamun realizes that peace is merely an illusion because behind Tutankhamun are power-hungry men that wait for the opportunity to seize his throne. Ankhesenamun must fight to protect her family from the men whose biggest wish is to see them dead.

   Ankhesenamun is a sympathetic character. She is truly a survivor. She experiences many horrors. She is the last of her line and is forced to watch her family die in front of her. My heart ached for her everytime she lost a member of her family. She is also forced to marry her father and gives him a healthy baby girl. After the death of Tutankhamun, she has to marry her grandfather, Ay. She tries to get out of the marriage by pleading to the Hittite king to help her. It ends up being a futile attempt to get out of her marriage to Ay. However the novel shows that these tragedies helped make Ankhesenamun a strong woman. I admire that she is really not afraid to stand up and fight for those she loves. She has a few flaws in this novel. She could be occasionally selfish and ruthless. However, Ankhesenamun is mostly a mature character in the novel. Because of the tragedies in her life, she is forced to become an adult at the age of nine. I could not stop reading this book because I hoped that she would eventually find some happiness in her life.

  Overall, this novel is about hope, faith, love, and family. The message of The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen is that there is always a silver lining. Even though Ankhesenamun has many dark moments in her life, she learned that these moments paved the road to her happiness. I thought that most of the characters were developed. My second favorite character was Nefertiti. She seemed like a warrior queen. She even took up the sword to protect her family and her country. Tutankhamun seemed like a lonely boy that tried to be a great king to his kingdom. The only character I thought needed more development was the villian. His motive for wanting to destroy Ankhesenamun’s family was very silly. I like how the author incorporated the story of Moses in the Bible and that it played an important part in the story. The aspects I did not like in the novel was the unnecessary love triangle and the story switches periodically between Ankhesenamun’s life as King Tut’s widow and Ankhesenamun’s past. These time jumps made the reading a bit confusing for me and harder to keep track of the story. Still, The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen is a feast for historical fiction lovers and features a captivating heroine. It is meticulously researched and is an engrossing novel. I recommend this novel for fans of Michelle Moran, Pauline Gedge, and Stephanie Thornton.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m