Skip to main content

The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic by J. Lynn Else: A Book Review

The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic
Author: J. Lynn Else
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: J. Lynn Else
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 452
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Synopsis: It is a time of new beginnings! Pharaoh Akhenaten has declared that there is only one god to be worshipped throughout Egypt. He has also made a promise to his oldest daughter, Merytaten, that one day she will be his heir and the future pharaoh. However, as pressures build up against the new religion, it falls upon Akhenaten's wife, Nefertiti, and Merytaten to help prevent an insurrection. 

     Merytaten soon finds herself trapped in a world of broken dreams and empty promises. When she loses the meaning to her life, how can she possibly help the citizens? What can she do to assist the people who are falling into poverty? How can she save those she loves when Death's shadow looms large across the city? 

     Discover the struggles and triumphs of one young woman's lifetime...

     "Heir of the Heretic" is book 2 of 'The Forgotten' series by J. Lynn Else. 

     My Review: Merytaten is Akhenaten and Nefertiti’s oldest daughter. Because a son had not yet been born, Merytaten is raised to be the next pharaoh. However, her dreams of ruling are crushed when her father becomes obsessed withgetting a healthy son. She is married off to her evil cousin Smenkhkare, who is chosen to be Akhenaten’s successor. Merytaten watches her people’s suffering as both her father and husband lusts for power. Can Merytaten stand up to her husband and help her citizens?

    Merytaten is a wonderful character. I loved her more than Ankhesenamun. She is a very mature character. She suffers a lot and witnesses her dreams being taken away from her. Merytaten must learn how to make the best of the situation that is given to her. She is wise and is not afraid to stand up to her enemies. However, the reason why I love Merytaten more than Ankhesenamun is that she is selfless. She is not afraid to risk her life in order to help her people. She is a loving and caring individual. I hated to read the suffering that she went through and hoped that she would find happiness in the novel.

   Overall, this book is about faith, love, family, duty, and sacrifice. I thought that all the characters were very realistic. I thought that this novel was very fast-paced and full of action. The only thing I did not like about The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic was the ending. It reminded of the ending of Tess of the d'Urbervilles. I thought that Merytaten deserved a better fate than what she was given in the novel. However, The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic is a thought-provoking read that will linger with you long after you have read the last page. I have to add that even though this is the sequel to The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen, it reads more like a prequel. I suggest that you read this book first in order to get a better understanding of the events that happen in The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen. Thus, I recommend this novel for fans of Kiya, The She-King, and Nefertiti.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther