Skip to main content

The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic by J. Lynn Else: A Book Review

The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic
Author: J. Lynn Else
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: J. Lynn Else
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 452
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Synopsis: It is a time of new beginnings! Pharaoh Akhenaten has declared that there is only one god to be worshipped throughout Egypt. He has also made a promise to his oldest daughter, Merytaten, that one day she will be his heir and the future pharaoh. However, as pressures build up against the new religion, it falls upon Akhenaten's wife, Nefertiti, and Merytaten to help prevent an insurrection. 

     Merytaten soon finds herself trapped in a world of broken dreams and empty promises. When she loses the meaning to her life, how can she possibly help the citizens? What can she do to assist the people who are falling into poverty? How can she save those she loves when Death's shadow looms large across the city? 

     Discover the struggles and triumphs of one young woman's lifetime...

     "Heir of the Heretic" is book 2 of 'The Forgotten' series by J. Lynn Else. 

     My Review: Merytaten is Akhenaten and Nefertiti’s oldest daughter. Because a son had not yet been born, Merytaten is raised to be the next pharaoh. However, her dreams of ruling are crushed when her father becomes obsessed withgetting a healthy son. She is married off to her evil cousin Smenkhkare, who is chosen to be Akhenaten’s successor. Merytaten watches her people’s suffering as both her father and husband lusts for power. Can Merytaten stand up to her husband and help her citizens?

    Merytaten is a wonderful character. I loved her more than Ankhesenamun. She is a very mature character. She suffers a lot and witnesses her dreams being taken away from her. Merytaten must learn how to make the best of the situation that is given to her. She is wise and is not afraid to stand up to her enemies. However, the reason why I love Merytaten more than Ankhesenamun is that she is selfless. She is not afraid to risk her life in order to help her people. She is a loving and caring individual. I hated to read the suffering that she went through and hoped that she would find happiness in the novel.

   Overall, this book is about faith, love, family, duty, and sacrifice. I thought that all the characters were very realistic. I thought that this novel was very fast-paced and full of action. The only thing I did not like about The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic was the ending. It reminded of the ending of Tess of the d'Urbervilles. I thought that Merytaten deserved a better fate than what she was given in the novel. However, The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic is a thought-provoking read that will linger with you long after you have read the last page. I have to add that even though this is the sequel to The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen, it reads more like a prequel. I suggest that you read this book first in order to get a better understanding of the events that happen in The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen. Thus, I recommend this novel for fans of Kiya, The She-King, and Nefertiti.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a