Skip to main content

Cleopatra Unconquered (Volume #1) by Helen R. Davis: A Book Review

Cleopatra Unconquered (Cleopatra Reimagined Book #1)
Author: Helen R. Davis
Genre: Alternative Historical Fiction
Publisher: Savant Books & Publications LLC
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 328
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The first book of three in a richly imagined ancient world where the course of history is altered by one battle. In this world, Antony and Cleopatra triumph at the Battle of Actium, and Cleopatra emerges as a queen, stateswoman, and politician. Those around her come to life as the reader returns to those days to live them with her. 

     My Review: Cleopatra Unconquered is the first in a trilogy that that imagines what would happen if Cleopatra won the Battle of Actium. This book narrates Cleopatra’s challenges to becoming pharaoh. She is the favorite child of her father Ptolemy XII. When he dies, Cleopatra marries her brother Ptolemy XIII. However, she faces a war between her siblings for the crown of Egypt. Her only hope of ever reconquering her kingdom is through Julius Caesar. Together, Julius Caesar and Cleopatra dream of forming an alliance between Rome and Egypt.

   Even though this is an alternative history series, Cleopatra Unconquered is mostly a straightforward historical fiction novel until the end. This novel introduces us to Cleopatra and her trials. Cleopatra is a strong and capable queen. She is a quick-thinker and manges to turn the odds in her favor. She can be impatient at times. However, she is very ambitious. The novels shows that she loves Egypt and cares about her kingdom. Thus, she was a very admirable figure and shows that she was able to hold her own in a man’s world.

   Overall, Cleopatra Unconquered is full of political intrigue, betrayal, and ambition. I like how the novel narrates the events that happen before the Battle of Actium. I thought all the characters except for Antony were developed. There were very few scenes with Antony, and I would love for him to be featured more. The drawbacks of the novel was the fantasy aspect in the story did not appeal to me, and I found them to be unnecessary to the plot. Also, the story seemed rushed, especially towards the end. It seemed as if once she met her word count, the author wanted to suddenly end her novel. Despite these flaws, it was a very enjoyable novel for fans of Cleopatra. I look forward to reading what happens to Cleopatra and Antony. I recommend this novel for fans of The Memoirs of Cleopatra, Kleopatra, and Cleopatra: Daughter of the Nile.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

  1. Thank you so much for your review, Lauralee!

    Amy
    HF Virtual Book Tours

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just to let you know this is first in a series of four now. It is no longer going to be a trilogy.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts: A Book Review

Finding Dorothy Author: Elizabeth Letts Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 12, 2019 Pages: 352 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband’s masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank’s passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book—because she’s the only one left who knows its secrets.     But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of “Over the Rainbow,” Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story, from her youth as a suffragette’s daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz . Judy reminds Maud of a

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

My Favorite Books of 2021

Looking back at the year 2021, it has been a very hard year especially with the pandemic. Reading a good book is what helps me get through the most difficult times. While I did not read as much this year as I usually do, I still found some gems that a worth a re-read. These books drew me into the past and for a while whisked me away from the realities of 2021. This is the list of my favorite books of the year. Boudica has always been one of my favorite historical figures of the year. I even wrote a history article which you can find here . I can say without a doubt that Melanie Karsak did justice to Boudica's early life. It was  a gripping historical read with raw emotions! I look forward to the next books in the series to see how Queen Boudica is portrayed! Queen Esther's story has always been one of my favorite book in the Bible . When my favorite Christian author writes one of my favorite stories, it becomes a sweet treat! I loved everything about The Star of Persia ! The m