Skip to main content

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1)

Author: Melanie Karsak

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Clockpunk Press

Release Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 598

Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Fated to lead a rebellion against Rome.

Destined to become a legend.

 

     From New York Times bestseller Melanie Karsak, author of the Celtic Blood series, comes a gripping historical fantasy series of ancient Britain, Celtic gods, a fated romance, and the warrior queen who defied Rome.

Britain, A.D. 42—Boudica, second daughter of a Celtic king, has little concern for tribal tensions and political intrigues. Called by the gods and the stirrings of her own wild heart, she listens instead to whispers of the oaks. But Boudica would be wiser to heed the warning cries of eagles.

Rumors abound that the Romans are amassing forces for another invasion. In an effort to consolidate power, Boudica’s father turns to Prasutagus, the formidable ruler of the Greater Iceni. To win Prasutagus’s aid, Boudica’s father must strike a bargain—a deal with implications beyond Boudica’s imagining.

My Review: Boudica is the second daughter of a Celtic king. She has no taste for getting involved with politics. However, she is called by the Celtic gods to beware of the Eagles. The Eagles are the Romans that are about to invade her beloved homeland. In order to protect them from the Romans, Boudicca’s father enters into an alliance with Prasutagus.

Boudica is one of the most famous queens in Great Britain. Yet, novelists have rarely focused on Boudica’s teen years. This novel gives the reader a glimpse of what Boudica might have been like as an adolescent. I really like Mrs. Karsak’s version of Boudica. Boudica is very carefree. She loves her home and it’s surroundings. I identified with her and the difficult choices that she had to make. Thus, not only was Boudica a strong character, but she was also very realistic and relatable.

Overall, this was a coming of age story of Boudica. As soon as you open up the first page, Mrs. Karsak sucks you into Celtic Britain. The past immediately becomes alive with vivid descriptions and a large cast of characters. All of the characters are realistic and complex. The author also does an excellent job using magical elements in her story. I love how the setting of Celtic Britain seems very mystical. Boudica’s Britain was before the conversion of Christianity. Thus, Britain appeared very magical that verged on faerie lore. Religion was an important aspect of the book, and I loved how Mrs. Karsak handled it! Thus, Queen of the Oak is a breathtaking and mesmerizing novel about the infamous British warrior queen! I loved this novel so much that I can’t wait for the sequel! I am excited to see how Mrs. Karsak will continue to portray Boudica’s story! I recommend this for fans of Mists of Avalon, Daughter of Destiny, and The Lost Queen!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot