Skip to main content

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1)

Author: Melanie Karsak

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Clockpunk Press

Release Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 598

Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Fated to lead a rebellion against Rome.

Destined to become a legend.

 

     From New York Times bestseller Melanie Karsak, author of the Celtic Blood series, comes a gripping historical fantasy series of ancient Britain, Celtic gods, a fated romance, and the warrior queen who defied Rome.

Britain, A.D. 42—Boudica, second daughter of a Celtic king, has little concern for tribal tensions and political intrigues. Called by the gods and the stirrings of her own wild heart, she listens instead to whispers of the oaks. But Boudica would be wiser to heed the warning cries of eagles.

Rumors abound that the Romans are amassing forces for another invasion. In an effort to consolidate power, Boudica’s father turns to Prasutagus, the formidable ruler of the Greater Iceni. To win Prasutagus’s aid, Boudica’s father must strike a bargain—a deal with implications beyond Boudica’s imagining.

My Review: Boudica is the second daughter of a Celtic king. She has no taste for getting involved with politics. However, she is called by the Celtic gods to beware of the Eagles. The Eagles are the Romans that are about to invade her beloved homeland. In order to protect them from the Romans, Boudicca’s father enters into an alliance with Prasutagus.

Boudica is one of the most famous queens in Great Britain. Yet, novelists have rarely focused on Boudica’s teen years. This novel gives the reader a glimpse of what Boudica might have been like as an adolescent. I really like Mrs. Karsak’s version of Boudica. Boudica is very carefree. She loves her home and it’s surroundings. I identified with her and the difficult choices that she had to make. Thus, not only was Boudica a strong character, but she was also very realistic and relatable.

Overall, this was a coming of age story of Boudica. As soon as you open up the first page, Mrs. Karsak sucks you into Celtic Britain. The past immediately becomes alive with vivid descriptions and a large cast of characters. All of the characters are realistic and complex. The author also does an excellent job using magical elements in her story. I love how the setting of Celtic Britain seems very mystical. Boudica’s Britain was before the conversion of Christianity. Thus, Britain appeared very magical that verged on faerie lore. Religion was an important aspect of the book, and I loved how Mrs. Karsak handled it! Thus, Queen of the Oak is a breathtaking and mesmerizing novel about the infamous British warrior queen! I loved this novel so much that I can’t wait for the sequel! I am excited to see how Mrs. Karsak will continue to portray Boudica’s story! I recommend this for fans of Mists of Avalon, Daughter of Destiny, and The Lost Queen!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I