Skip to main content

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1)

Author: Melanie Karsak

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Clockpunk Press

Release Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 598

Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Fated to lead a rebellion against Rome.

Destined to become a legend.

 

     From New York Times bestseller Melanie Karsak, author of the Celtic Blood series, comes a gripping historical fantasy series of ancient Britain, Celtic gods, a fated romance, and the warrior queen who defied Rome.

Britain, A.D. 42—Boudica, second daughter of a Celtic king, has little concern for tribal tensions and political intrigues. Called by the gods and the stirrings of her own wild heart, she listens instead to whispers of the oaks. But Boudica would be wiser to heed the warning cries of eagles.

Rumors abound that the Romans are amassing forces for another invasion. In an effort to consolidate power, Boudica’s father turns to Prasutagus, the formidable ruler of the Greater Iceni. To win Prasutagus’s aid, Boudica’s father must strike a bargain—a deal with implications beyond Boudica’s imagining.

My Review: Boudica is the second daughter of a Celtic king. She has no taste for getting involved with politics. However, she is called by the Celtic gods to beware of the Eagles. The Eagles are the Romans that are about to invade her beloved homeland. In order to protect them from the Romans, Boudicca’s father enters into an alliance with Prasutagus.

Boudica is one of the most famous queens in Great Britain. Yet, novelists have rarely focused on Boudica’s teen years. This novel gives the reader a glimpse of what Boudica might have been like as an adolescent. I really like Mrs. Karsak’s version of Boudica. Boudica is very carefree. She loves her home and it’s surroundings. I identified with her and the difficult choices that she had to make. Thus, not only was Boudica a strong character, but she was also very realistic and relatable.

Overall, this was a coming of age story of Boudica. As soon as you open up the first page, Mrs. Karsak sucks you into Celtic Britain. The past immediately becomes alive with vivid descriptions and a large cast of characters. All of the characters are realistic and complex. The author also does an excellent job using magical elements in her story. I love how the setting of Celtic Britain seems very mystical. Boudica’s Britain was before the conversion of Christianity. Thus, Britain appeared very magical that verged on faerie lore. Religion was an important aspect of the book, and I loved how Mrs. Karsak handled it! Thus, Queen of the Oak is a breathtaking and mesmerizing novel about the infamous British warrior queen! I loved this novel so much that I can’t wait for the sequel! I am excited to see how Mrs. Karsak will continue to portray Boudica’s story! I recommend this for fans of Mists of Avalon, Daughter of Destiny, and The Lost Queen!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie