Skip to main content

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

Queen of Oak: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #1)

Author: Melanie Karsak

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Clockpunk Press

Release Date: October 12, 2021

Pages: 598

Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Fated to lead a rebellion against Rome.

Destined to become a legend.

 

     From New York Times bestseller Melanie Karsak, author of the Celtic Blood series, comes a gripping historical fantasy series of ancient Britain, Celtic gods, a fated romance, and the warrior queen who defied Rome.

Britain, A.D. 42—Boudica, second daughter of a Celtic king, has little concern for tribal tensions and political intrigues. Called by the gods and the stirrings of her own wild heart, she listens instead to whispers of the oaks. But Boudica would be wiser to heed the warning cries of eagles.

Rumors abound that the Romans are amassing forces for another invasion. In an effort to consolidate power, Boudica’s father turns to Prasutagus, the formidable ruler of the Greater Iceni. To win Prasutagus’s aid, Boudica’s father must strike a bargain—a deal with implications beyond Boudica’s imagining.

My Review: Boudica is the second daughter of a Celtic king. She has no taste for getting involved with politics. However, she is called by the Celtic gods to beware of the Eagles. The Eagles are the Romans that are about to invade her beloved homeland. In order to protect them from the Romans, Boudicca’s father enters into an alliance with Prasutagus.

Boudica is one of the most famous queens in Great Britain. Yet, novelists have rarely focused on Boudica’s teen years. This novel gives the reader a glimpse of what Boudica might have been like as an adolescent. I really like Mrs. Karsak’s version of Boudica. Boudica is very carefree. She loves her home and it’s surroundings. I identified with her and the difficult choices that she had to make. Thus, not only was Boudica a strong character, but she was also very realistic and relatable.

Overall, this was a coming of age story of Boudica. As soon as you open up the first page, Mrs. Karsak sucks you into Celtic Britain. The past immediately becomes alive with vivid descriptions and a large cast of characters. All of the characters are realistic and complex. The author also does an excellent job using magical elements in her story. I love how the setting of Celtic Britain seems very mystical. Boudica’s Britain was before the conversion of Christianity. Thus, Britain appeared very magical that verged on faerie lore. Religion was an important aspect of the book, and I loved how Mrs. Karsak handled it! Thus, Queen of the Oak is a breathtaking and mesmerizing novel about the infamous British warrior queen! I loved this novel so much that I can’t wait for the sequel! I am excited to see how Mrs. Karsak will continue to portray Boudica’s story! I recommend this for fans of Mists of Avalon, Daughter of Destiny, and The Lost Queen!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Blog Tour: Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles by Will Bashor

Marie Antoinette’s World: Intrigue, Infidelity, And Adultery In Versailles [history/biographical nonfiction] Release date: June 15, 2020 Postponed due to Covid-19: July 30, 2020 at Rowman & Littlefield Publishers Hardcover and ebook, 320 pages Author’s page | Goodreads SYNOPSIS Synopsis: This riveting book explores the little-known intimate life of Marie Antoinette and her milieu in a world filled with intrigue, infidelity, adultery, and sexually transmitted diseases. Will Bashor reveals the intrigue and debauchery of the Bourbon kings from Louis XIII to Louis XV, which were closely intertwined with the expansion of Versailles from a simple hunting lodge to a luxurious and intricately ordered palace. It soon became a retreat for scandalous conspiracies and rendezvous—all hidden from the public eye.       When Marie Antoinette arrived, she was quickly drawn into a true viper’s nest, encouraged by her imprudent entourage. Bashor shows that her often thoughtless, fantas

Blog Tour: Girl With A Gun (Annie Oakley Mysteries #1) by Kari Bovee: A Book Review

  Join us for this tour from Jan 10 to Feb 4 ,  2022 ! Book Details: Book Title : Girl with a Gun (An Annie Oakley Mystery) by Kari Bovee Category :  Adult Fiction (18 + yrs), 316 pages Length : 9 hours, 24 minutes. Genre :  Historical Mystery / Cozy Mystery Publisher :  Bosque Publishing Release date:    April 2020 Content Rating :  PG + M: Mature themes, mild swearing  Source : This audiobook was given to me by iReads Book Tour in exchange for an honest review.   Book Description :      She’s on the rise to fame and fortune, but her sudden notoriety comes with some deadly consequences.      Annie Oakley thrives as a sharpshooter in the Wild West Show. Finally, she has a chance to save her family’s farm—and make her dreams come true.      But her act misfires when she discovers her Indian assistant dead in her tent. Uncovering a shocking secret from her assistant’s past, the girl with the gun believes it’s murder. Determined to find the truth, she ruffles some horse