Skip to main content

Star of Persia: Esther's Story by Jill Eileen Smith: A Book Review

Star of Persia: Esther’s Story
Author: Jill Eileen Smith
Genre: Christain, Historical Fiction, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Fleming H. Revell Company
Release Date: 2020
Pages: 368
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In an effort to complete a war his father had planned to win, King Xerxes calls every governor, satrap, and official in his vast kingdom to his palace in Susa to strategize and feast. When they finally leave, he decides on one more week of frivolity, which ends in the banishment of his favorite wife, something he never intended to do. But when he discovers Esther, Xerxes is sure he has a second chance at happiness.

In her wildest dreams, Esther could never have imagined that she would end up as queen of Persia. Yet she knows better than to become complacent. Another of Xerxes's wives is vying for position, and his closest advisor has a deep and dangerous grudge against Esther's adoptive father. Caught in the middle of palace politics, Esther will find herself in an impossible position: risk her life or consign her people to annihilation.

With her impeccable research and her imaginative flair, Jill Eileen Smith brings to life the romantic, suspenseful, and beloved story of Esther, queen of Persia.

     My Review: Esther is a Jewish woman who is comfortable with her simple life. However, her world is interrupted when she is selected to be a candidate for Queen of Babylon. Reluctantly, Esther enters the palace and is eventually chosen to become queen. Yet, she realizes that life in the palace is very dangerous. Esther is caught in the middle of politics. She learns that there is a conspiracy to annihilate her people. She uses her position as queen to save her people.

“The Book of Esther” is one of my favorite books in The Bible. I love her rags-to-riches story. Thus, everytime I read a retelling of “The Book of Esther'' from other biblical fiction authors, it never gets old because each of them portray Esther’s story in a different way. Thus, I was delighted to read Jill Eileen Smith’s Star of Persia, and I immediately devoured it. Jill Eileen Smith made Esther a strong heroine that readers will love!

Jill Eilleen Smith’s Esther is very relatable. She is a young woman that is very comfortable with her life. She loves her friends and her uncle. She yearns to marry the boy she has a crush on. Yet, when she is chosen to enter the palace, she comes to terms with her situation. She is ambitious and becomes queen. Esther takes her duties as queen very seriously. She is a devoted wife and step-mother. Thus, I found her to be a very good queen consort. 

Overall, this novel is full of hope, faith,  love, and courage. The message of this novel is that God uses ordinary people to change history. Esther was a simple Jewish orphan who became queen and thus saved many lives. I also liked how Mrs. Smith weaves historical figures and events into this Biblical tale. The relationship between Esther and Xerxes was very sweet! Thus, Star of Persia is a fascinating retelling of an extraordinary queen. I recommend this novel for fans of Angela Hunt, Mesu Andrews, and H.B. Moore!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther