Skip to main content

Blog Tour: My Queen, My Love (Henrietta of France #1) by Elena Maria Vidal: A Book Review


My Queen, My Love: A Novel of Henrietta Maria by Elena Maria Vidal

Publication Date: November 25, 2021
Mayapple Books
Paperback & eBook; 284 pages

Series: The Henrietta of France Trilogy Book 1
Genre: Historical Fiction/Biography

Source: I received a copy of this book by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


 Synopsis: The youngest daughter of Henri IV, the first Bourbon King of France, Henriette-Marie always knew she would have to marry a prince. When the Prince of Wales, Charles Stuart, travels through Paris he sees her dancing at the Louvre and within two years a marriage is arranged. However, Henriette is Catholic and Catholicism is banned in England. In preparing to become Queen of England, Scotland and Ireland, Henriette has no idea of the obstacles that must be overcome before she can find happiness with Charles. The main hindrance, she soon realizes, is not the difference in religion but Charles' best friend, George Villiers, the handsome Duke of Buckingham, who is resolved to subdue Henriette to his will. Buckingham forgets that Henriette is also half Medici and underestimates her determination to succeed as well as the depth of her love for Charles. My Queen, My Love is the first novel in the Henrietta of France Trilogy by acclaimed author Elena Maria Vidal. It describes the early years of the tumultuous marriage of Charles I and Henrietta Maria which preceded the English Civil Wars of the Seventeenth Century. 

    My Review: My Queen, My Love is the first novel in a trilogy about Queen Henrietta Maria of England. She was the wife of Charles I, who was executed during the English Civil War. In this novel, Princess Henriette-Marie is excited to marry King Charles. She is a Catholic and hopes to bring her to the Catholic Church. When she arrives in England, she finds many obstacles. The first is because she is a Catholic in a Protestant country. The other obstacle is Charles’s best friend, the Duke of Buckingham, who is openly hostile to her and tries to create misunderstandings between her and her husband. Can Henrietta overcome the obstacles to find a happy marriage with her husband?

    Henrietta Maria of England has often been an unlikable figure in history. Yet, My Queen, My Love tells the story from Henrietta’s perspective and is seen in a more sympathetic light. In this novel, Henrietta is lively and charming but incredibly naïve. She doesn’t comprehend that her people don’t want a Catholic queen. She also doesn’t get along with the ambitious Duke of Buckingham. Therefore, Henrietta’s early years with Charles are very turbulent. She and Charles go through many disasters. Yet, Henrietta never gives up. She continues to persist in making her marriage with Charles work. Eventually, she succeeds and is able to find happiness with Charles. Thus, Henrietta is very likable. She is determined but hard-working. I rooted for her to have a happy ending, but I know that in history, she will not.

    Overall, this novel tells the trials and tribulations of a royal marriage. In this short novel, there is a large cast of characters that can be confusing to the reader. However, they seem very realistic and complex. Besides Henrietta, my favorite character is Marie de Medici who gives more background on her early life. I like how the beginning seems like a fairytale. Because the two of them worked hard to make their marriage work, they ended up deeply in love with each other which made it satisfying. There is plenty of drama, politics, and courtly intrigue that will engage the reader to keep turning the page! I can’t wait to read the next book in the series to learn what comes next for Queen Henrietta Maria of England! I recommend this for fans of Jean Plaidy, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory! My Queen, My Love is a promising start to an enthralling series on one of England’s most tragic queens!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Available on Amazon

Praise

    "Elena Maria Vidal's new historical novel captivated me from the beginning. The fascinating story of the often tumultuous life of Henrietta Maria of France, a devout Catholic Queen living in post-Reformation England, is beautifully written. This will especially be appreciated by readers who want to immerse themselves in the world of 17th century England and France. The characters are well-developed and believable. I highly recommend this remarkable book to all who enjoy a compelling story." —Ellen Gable, award-winning author

    "Like the works by Sharon Kay Penman and other exceptional historical fiction authors, My Queen, My Love takes the reader on an intense journey back in time, allowing the reader to feel immersed in the era, the events, the people, the loves and the tragedies (and so much more). Beautifully told." —Readers' Favorite

    "With My Queen, My Love, E.M. Vidal has brought Henrietta Maria's passion and character to life with remarkable skill." —Andrea Zuvich, author of Sex and Sexuality in Stuart Britain

    "Elena Maria Vidal envelops readers in period detail with each rustle of silk, every whispered prophecy. A richly told tale of intrigue and betrayal, loyalty and hope, My Queen, My Love rushes headlong towards the tumultuous history of the English Civil War." —Mary Jo Anderson, author of Male and Female He Made Them

    "Henrietta Maria's life is so richly improbable that it's unusual that she hasn't attracted the attention of more historical novelists. Now, we have an exciting, beautifully-researched, and sympathetic first installment in a new trilogy inspired by this remarkable seventeenth-century queen." —Gareth Russell, author of A History of the English Monarchy: From Boadicea to Elizabeth I and An Illustrated Introduction to the Tudors


About the Author


    Elena Maria Vidal was born in Florence, Oregon in 1962 but grew up in Frederick County, Maryland. She received her BA in Psychology from Hood College and her MA in Modern European History from SUNY Albany. She has been a member of the Secular Order of Mount Carmel since 1986. Elena enjoys cooking, gardening, opera and working with the elderly. She lives on Maryland's Eastern Shore with her family. She is currently engaged in writing a historical fiction trilogy about Queen Henrietta Maria. Elena's Tea at Trianon blog deals with social, religious and political issues as well as history. My Queen, My Love is her fifth novel and sixth book.

     For more information please visit Elena's website and blog.  You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, April 4
Review at Pursuing Stacie
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Tuesday, April 5
Review at A Girl Reads Bookss
Review at With a Book in Our Hands

Wednesday, April 6
Guest Post at Novels Alive
Review at Gwendalyn's Books

Thursday, April 7
Review at Novels Alive
Review at Books, Cooks, Looks

Friday, April 8
Review at 100 Pages a Day
Excerpt at Passages to the Past

Giveaway

    Enter to win a copy of My Queen, My Love by Elena Maria Vidal!

     The giveaway is open to the US & Canada only and ends on April 8th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

My Queen My Love

Comments

  1. Thanks so much for the lovely review!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting the tour & for this great review!

    Amy
    HF Virtual Book Tours

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot