Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Secrets of Rosenli Manor (Mysteries of Modern Ladies' Society #1) by Heidi Eljarbo: A Book Review

Secrets of Rosenli Manor by Heidi Eljarbo

Publication Date: March 29, 2022

Genre: Historical Fiction
Series: Mysteries of the Modern Ladies’ Society #1
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


Synopsis: Betrayal and trust go hand in hand in the first book of Heidi Eljarbo’s new turn-of-the-century series.

     It’s 1898, and Lilly has spent most of her life motherless and living with a father who never looks for a silver lining. When her great-aunt Agatha passes, Lilly’s existence takes a drastic turn. She packs her few belongings and moves into the old lady’s magnificent estate, Rosenli Manor.

    In the days that follow, Lilly tries to understand who Agatha really was, and hidden secrets slowly rise to the surface. Her great-aunt’s glamorous legacy is not quite what Lilly had imagined. She must trust in newly forged friendships, and to her surprise, she discovers what it means to truly fall in love. But not everyone is happy about the new mistress of Rosenli.

    Intrigue, mystery, and a touch of romance in the Norwegian countryside fill the pages of Secrets of Rosenli Manor.


My Review: Lilly’s great-aunt named Agatha passed away. Out of all of Lilly’s relatives, only Lilly is actually saddened by her death. The rest of her family only wants Agatha’s money and great estate. When Lilly is announced as the sole heir to Agatha’s vast fortune, all the relatives are angry to be left out of the will. It is not long that Lilly is adjusting to her new role as heiress that she learns someone wants to kill her? Could Lilly find the criminal and learn her true identity?


Lilly is a likable character. She is the only one out of all her relatives who actually cared for Agatha and grieved about her passing. She is also a strong advocate for women’s rights. She believes that women should have  college education and good jobs. I like how she makes friends with the residents of the community even if they harbor secrets. Lilly also seems capable of managing a wealthy business but she also has a lot to learn. Therefore, I found Lilly to be a fascinating character because she seems caring. She also takes her time contemplating her new role and how it will affect her life. I like how she is very determined to find out the secrets that her aunt has been hiding from her.


Overall, the story is about choices, secrets, and women’s rights. The characters are all fascinating and likable. The mystery was fun and cleverly done! There were a few storylines in the book that did not make sense. Nevertheless, this was a short and evenly paced mystery with a dash of atmosphere! It was enough to keep me entertained for a couple of hours on a Sunday afternoon! I enjoyed Secrets of Rosenli Manor so much that I can’t wait to pick up the sequel! I am excited to revisit the characters that Mrs. Eljarbo has created! I recommend this novel for fans of The Storm Sister, Flying Too High, and A Spy in the House!


Rating 4 out of 5 stars


     "Secrets of Rosenli Manor is a delightful mystery about finding what was lost and the power of friendship. The sweet romance added a refreshing dimension to the theme of competent and capable women at a time when females were denied a proper voice. Eljarbo's lovely writing brings the quaint Norwegian village alive through a cast of characters that will charm the reader from beginning to end." -Julie Daines, bestselling author of Eleanor and the Iron King

Available on Amazon


About the Author


    Heidi Eljarbo writes historical fiction. She grew up in a home filled with books and artwork and she never truly imagined she would do anything other than write and paint. She studied art, languages, and history, all of which have come in handy when working as a freelance writer, magazine journalist, and painter.

    After living in Canada, six US states, Japan, Switzerland, and Austria, Heidi now calls Norway home. She and her husband have a total of nine children, thirteen grandchildren—so far—in addition to a bouncy Wheaten Terrier.

    Their favorite retreat is a mountain cabin, where they hike in the summertime and ski the vast, white terrain during winter.

    Heidi’s favorites are family, God's beautiful nature, and the word whimsical.
 
    If you would like to know more, please visit Heidi's website. You can also follow her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, April 11
Review at Gwendalyn's Books

Tuesday, April 12
Review at Ms. Darcy Reads

Wednesday, April 13
Guest Post at Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals

Thursday, April 14
Excerpt at Coffee and Ink

Friday, April 15
Review at Bookworlder

Saturday, April 16
Review at The Page Ladies

Monday, April 18
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Tuesday, April 19
Review at 100 Pages a Day

Wednesday, April 20
Review at Library of Clean Reads
Review at Michelle the PA Loves to Read

Friday, April 22
Review at Passages to the Past

Monday, April 25
Review at Reading is My Remedy

Thursday, April 28
Excerpt at Novels Alive

Friday, April 29
Review at Novels Alive
Review at View from the Birdhouse

Giveaway

     Enter to win a copy of Secrets of Rosenli Manor & Of Darkness and Light by Heidi Eljarbo!

     The giveaway is open to the US only and ends on April 29th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

Rosenli Manor


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Release Blitz of Our Last Days in Barcelona by Chanel Cleeton

Our Last Days in Barcelona Author: Chanel Cleeton Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Pages: 320 Synopsis: Barcelona, 1964 . Exiled from Cuba after the revolution, Isabel Perez has learned to guard her heart and protect her family at all costs. After Isabel’s sister Beatriz disappears in Barcelona, Isabel goes to Spain in search of her. Joining forces with an unlikely ally thrusts Isabel into her sister’s dangerous world of espionage, but it’s an unearthed piece of family history that transforms Isabel’s life.      Barcelona, 1936 . Alicia Perez arrives in Barcelona after a difficult voyage from Cuba, her marriage in jeopardy and her young daughter Isabel in tow. Violence brews in Spain, the country on the brink of civil war, the rise of fascism threatening the world. When Cubans journey to Spain to join the International Brigades, Alicia’s past comes back to haunt her as she is unexpectedly reunited with the man who once held her heart.      Alicia and Isabel’s lives intertwine, and

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie