Skip to main content

Blog Tour: My Queen, My Love (Henrietta of France #1) by Elena Maria Vidal: A Book Review


My Queen, My Love: A Novel of Henrietta Maria by Elena Maria Vidal

Publication Date: November 25, 2021
Mayapple Books
Paperback & eBook; 284 pages

Series: The Henrietta of France Trilogy Book 1
Genre: Historical Fiction/Biography

Source: I received a copy of this book by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


 Synopsis: The youngest daughter of Henri IV, the first Bourbon King of France, Henriette-Marie always knew she would have to marry a prince. When the Prince of Wales, Charles Stuart, travels through Paris he sees her dancing at the Louvre and within two years a marriage is arranged. However, Henriette is Catholic and Catholicism is banned in England. In preparing to become Queen of England, Scotland and Ireland, Henriette has no idea of the obstacles that must be overcome before she can find happiness with Charles. The main hindrance, she soon realizes, is not the difference in religion but Charles' best friend, George Villiers, the handsome Duke of Buckingham, who is resolved to subdue Henriette to his will. Buckingham forgets that Henriette is also half Medici and underestimates her determination to succeed as well as the depth of her love for Charles. My Queen, My Love is the first novel in the Henrietta of France Trilogy by acclaimed author Elena Maria Vidal. It describes the early years of the tumultuous marriage of Charles I and Henrietta Maria which preceded the English Civil Wars of the Seventeenth Century. 

    My Review: My Queen, My Love is the first novel in a trilogy about Queen Henrietta Maria of England. She was the wife of Charles I, who was executed during the English Civil War. In this novel, Princess Henriette-Marie is excited to marry King Charles. She is a Catholic and hopes to bring her to the Catholic Church. When she arrives in England, she finds many obstacles. The first is because she is a Catholic in a Protestant country. The other obstacle is Charles’s best friend, the Duke of Buckingham, who is openly hostile to her and tries to create misunderstandings between her and her husband. Can Henrietta overcome the obstacles to find a happy marriage with her husband?

    Henrietta Maria of England has often been an unlikable figure in history. Yet, My Queen, My Love tells the story from Henrietta’s perspective and is seen in a more sympathetic light. In this novel, Henrietta is lively and charming but incredibly naïve. She doesn’t comprehend that her people don’t want a Catholic queen. She also doesn’t get along with the ambitious Duke of Buckingham. Therefore, Henrietta’s early years with Charles are very turbulent. She and Charles go through many disasters. Yet, Henrietta never gives up. She continues to persist in making her marriage with Charles work. Eventually, she succeeds and is able to find happiness with Charles. Thus, Henrietta is very likable. She is determined but hard-working. I rooted for her to have a happy ending, but I know that in history, she will not.

    Overall, this novel tells the trials and tribulations of a royal marriage. In this short novel, there is a large cast of characters that can be confusing to the reader. However, they seem very realistic and complex. Besides Henrietta, my favorite character is Marie de Medici who gives more background on her early life. I like how the beginning seems like a fairytale. Because the two of them worked hard to make their marriage work, they ended up deeply in love with each other which made it satisfying. There is plenty of drama, politics, and courtly intrigue that will engage the reader to keep turning the page! I can’t wait to read the next book in the series to learn what comes next for Queen Henrietta Maria of England! I recommend this for fans of Jean Plaidy, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory! My Queen, My Love is a promising start to an enthralling series on one of England’s most tragic queens!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Available on Amazon

Praise

    "Elena Maria Vidal's new historical novel captivated me from the beginning. The fascinating story of the often tumultuous life of Henrietta Maria of France, a devout Catholic Queen living in post-Reformation England, is beautifully written. This will especially be appreciated by readers who want to immerse themselves in the world of 17th century England and France. The characters are well-developed and believable. I highly recommend this remarkable book to all who enjoy a compelling story." —Ellen Gable, award-winning author

    "Like the works by Sharon Kay Penman and other exceptional historical fiction authors, My Queen, My Love takes the reader on an intense journey back in time, allowing the reader to feel immersed in the era, the events, the people, the loves and the tragedies (and so much more). Beautifully told." —Readers' Favorite

    "With My Queen, My Love, E.M. Vidal has brought Henrietta Maria's passion and character to life with remarkable skill." —Andrea Zuvich, author of Sex and Sexuality in Stuart Britain

    "Elena Maria Vidal envelops readers in period detail with each rustle of silk, every whispered prophecy. A richly told tale of intrigue and betrayal, loyalty and hope, My Queen, My Love rushes headlong towards the tumultuous history of the English Civil War." —Mary Jo Anderson, author of Male and Female He Made Them

    "Henrietta Maria's life is so richly improbable that it's unusual that she hasn't attracted the attention of more historical novelists. Now, we have an exciting, beautifully-researched, and sympathetic first installment in a new trilogy inspired by this remarkable seventeenth-century queen." —Gareth Russell, author of A History of the English Monarchy: From Boadicea to Elizabeth I and An Illustrated Introduction to the Tudors


About the Author


    Elena Maria Vidal was born in Florence, Oregon in 1962 but grew up in Frederick County, Maryland. She received her BA in Psychology from Hood College and her MA in Modern European History from SUNY Albany. She has been a member of the Secular Order of Mount Carmel since 1986. Elena enjoys cooking, gardening, opera and working with the elderly. She lives on Maryland's Eastern Shore with her family. She is currently engaged in writing a historical fiction trilogy about Queen Henrietta Maria. Elena's Tea at Trianon blog deals with social, religious and political issues as well as history. My Queen, My Love is her fifth novel and sixth book.

     For more information please visit Elena's website and blog.  You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, April 4
Review at Pursuing Stacie
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Tuesday, April 5
Review at A Girl Reads Bookss
Review at With a Book in Our Hands

Wednesday, April 6
Guest Post at Novels Alive
Review at Gwendalyn's Books

Thursday, April 7
Review at Novels Alive
Review at Books, Cooks, Looks

Friday, April 8
Review at 100 Pages a Day
Excerpt at Passages to the Past

Giveaway

    Enter to win a copy of My Queen, My Love by Elena Maria Vidal!

     The giveaway is open to the US & Canada only and ends on April 8th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

My Queen My Love

Comments

  1. Thanks so much for the lovely review!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting the tour & for this great review!

    Amy
    HF Virtual Book Tours

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud