Skip to main content

Miss Aldridge Regrets (Canary Club Mystery #1) by Louise Hare: A Book Review

 

Miss Aldridge Regrets (Canary Club Mystery #1)

Author: Louise Hare

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense

Publisher: Berkley

Release Date: 2022

Pages: 368

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: The glittering RMS Queen Mary. A nightclub singer on the run. An aristocratic family with secrets worth killing for.


     London, 1936. Lena Aldridge wonders if life has passed her by. The dazzling theatre career she hoped for hasn’t worked out. Instead, she’s stuck singing in a sticky-floored basement club in Soho, and her married lover has just left her. But Lena has always had a complicated life, one shrouded in mystery as a mixed-race girl passing for white in a city unforgiving of her true racial heritage.


     She’s feeling utterly hopeless until a stranger offers her the chance of a lifetime: a starring role on Broadway and a first-class ticket on the Queen Mary bound for New York. After a murder at the club, the timing couldn’t be better, and Lena jumps at the chance to escape England. But death follows her onboard when an obscenely wealthy family draws her into their fold just as one among them is killed in a chillingly familiar way. As Lena navigates the Abernathy’s increasingly bizarre family dynamic, she realizes that her greatest performance won't be for an audience, but for her life.


     With seductive glamor, simmering family drama, and dizzying twists, Louise Hare makes her beguiling US debut.


     My Review: Lena Aldridge is leaving her life in Soho to get started on a new career in Broadway. She buys a first-class ticket on the Queen Mary that is bound for New York. When one of the first- class passengers is killed, Lena begins an investigation to find a killer. As she investigates, she learns that it is similar to a murder that happened at the club in Soho that she once sang at before she left England. Could the two murders be connected?


     I did not warm up to Lena Aldridge as the protagonist. I found her to be clueless on many occasions. She often gets herself into reckless and dangerous situations. She does not see the obvious of what is in front of her. Therefore, I was not impressed with her skills as an amateur sleuth. She made many foolish choices and was not a clever protagonist. Therefore, I did not find Lena Aldridge to be very likable and yearned for a smarter heroine.


     Overall, this novel is about dreams, love, and racism. I found all the characters to be very bland and unlikable. I also thought the novel seemed to be dragged out and had a predictable mystery. Still, there is a lot of glitz and glamor and scandals that will pique the reader’s interest to keep reading. I also like the historical details of what it was like to be a passenger on the Queen Mary. I am going to give this series a second chance and read the sequel when it comes out to see whether I like the series or not. I am hoping that Lena Aldridge will grow into a smart and mature heroine. I recommend this for fans of The Secret Life of Anna Blanc, The Key to Deceit, and The Mitford Murders!


Rating: 2 ½  out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for

The War Queens by Rebecca Hazell: A Book Review

The War Queens Author: Rebecca Hazell Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Tellwell Talent Release Date: 2023 Pages: 496 Source: This book was given to me by the publicist in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: By the sixth century, the Roman Empire is already lost to tribal invasions, brutal Merovingian Franks have seized Gaul from the civilized Romanized Visigoths, and a dark age has descended across Europe. Now a deadly rivalry arises between two Merovingian queens. Brunhilda and Fredegunda are equals in beauty and intelligence, but opposite in vision and temperament. When the Franks demand a royal bride, Visigoth Brunhilda marries into a world that despises women. Suddenly thrust into power and repeatedly facing loss and grief, she seeks to revive a new Rome based on justice and prosperity. Her implacable foe, Fredegunda, is a former slave concubine who lives only for personal power. Insanely jealous of high-born Brunhilda, she uses seduction, assassination, war, and even witc