Skip to main content

The American Adventuress by C. W. Gortner: A Book Review

The American Adventuress
Author: C. W. Gortner 
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: William Morrow
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 384
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: The story of Jennie Jerome Churchill, mother of Winston, a New York born heiress who always lived life on her own terms.


     Daughter of New York financier Leonard Jerome, Jennie was born into wealth—and scandal. Upon her parents’ separation, her mother took Jennie and her sisters to Paris, where Mrs. Jerome was determined to marry her daughters into the most elite families. The glamorous city became their tumultuous finishing school until it fell to revolt. 


     Fleeing to Queen Victoria’s England, Jennie soon caught the eye of aristocrat Randolph Spencer-Churchill, son of the Duke of Marlborough, one of Britain’s loftiest peers. It was love at first sight, their unconventional marriage driven by mutual ambition and the birth of two sons. Undeterred by premature widowhood or society’s rigid expectations, Jennie brashly carried on a lifelong intimate friendship with Edward, Prince of Wales—a notorious bon vivant—and had two later marriages to younger men. When her son Winston launched his brilliant political career, Jennie guided him to success, his most vocal and valuable supporter.


     By turns scandalous, tragic, and exciting, Jennie Jerome lived an unconventional life full of defiance—one that enshrined her as an American adventuress.


     My Review: The American Adventuress tells the remarkable story of Jennie Jerome Churchill, the mother of Winston Churchill. Jennie Jerome is the daughter of a self-made American millionaire. One day, she is pursued by a British nobleman. Jennie falls in love and is determined to marry him against her parents’ wishes. Once she is married, she learns that marriage is complicated and full of hardships. Jennie also tries to help her husband, and later her son, through their political careers.


     Jennie Jerome Churchill is not a likable character. She is very vain and selfish. She has little compassion for others. She was not a good mother to her sons, Winston and Jack Churchill, and often neglected them. Even when her sons are grown, she expects them to let her indulge in her personal pursuits and her marriages to young men who are deemed suitable for her. Even though I did not like her, I still found her to be a fascinating character. I like her independent spirit and her love for writing. Jennie Jerome Churchill definitely lived her life according to her own terms.


     Overall, this novel paints a complex portrait of a larger than life woman. There is not much depth to any of the secondary characters. Therefore, I didn’t feel any emotions towards them. I did not feel Jennie’s great love for her first husband. I also did not understand Winston Churchill. This is probably because the story is told from Jennie’s self-centered perspective. The one thing I did like was Jennie’s strong bond with her father. The pacing was uneven. There were times when I thought the story was rushed. It also had unnecessary and tedious scenes. Still, there were many glamorous parties, scandals and drama that made it a light and entertaining read! The American Adventuress reads like a soap opera that captivated me from the first page! I also love the author’s attention to historical detail! The American Adventuress is an honorary tribute to Winston Churchill’s mother. I recommend this novel for fans of That Churchill Woman, Lady Clementine, and American Duchess!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t