Skip to main content

Blog Tour: A Shape on the Air by Julia Ibbotson: A Book Review

A Shape on the Air by Julia Ibbotson

Publication Date: October 9, 2021
Genre: Historical Mystery
Series: Dr. DuLac, Book 1
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


Synopsis: For fans of Barbara Erskine, Pamela Hartshorne, Susanna Kearsley, Christina Courtenay

     Can echoes of the past threaten the present? They are 1500 years apart, but can they reach out to each other across the centuries? One woman faces a traumatic truth in the present day. The other is forced to marry the man she hates as the 'dark ages' unfold.

      How can Dr Viv DuLac, medievalist and academic, unlock the secrets of the past? Traumatised by betrayal, she slips into 499 AD and into the body of Lady Vivianne, who is also battling treachery. Viv must uncover the mystery of the key that she unwittingly brings back with her to the present day, as echoes of the past resonate through time. But little does Viv realise just how much both their lives across the centuries will become so intertwined. And in the end, how can they help each other across the ages without changing the course of history?


My Review: Dr. Viv DuLac is a professor in medieval studies. One night she learns that her lover has been cheating on her. Due to the stress of her break-up, she goes back in time to 499 CE. She witnesses the life of another individual, Lady Viviane, whose life mirrors her own. Lady Viviane is forced to marry a man that she hates. Could both women from different time periods help each other throughout their hardships?


Dr. Viv DuLac is a highly accomplished woman. She is an academic and lecturer of medieval studies. When her first love fails, she soon finds another man named Rory who also claimed that he was in the past of 499 CE. I found this to be very interesting and wanted to know the connection between her and Rory. Therefore, I found her story to be just as compelling as Lady Viviane’s story.


Lady Viviane’s story was very intriguing. Even though I loved both timelines, I thought that Lady Viviane was a more interesting character than Dr. Viv DuLac. She was a very strong and courageous woman who had a dark past. I found her story to be very mysterious, and I was curious to learn what happened to her in the end. Thus, her story was very emotional and heart-wrenching.


Overall, this novel was about trauma, loss, and renewed love. I found all the characters to be very fascinating. There were a few flaws to the novel. The beginning started out very slow. The middle of it tended to be a bit repetitive. Nevertheless, I did like how it ended. I like how it focuses on the origins of King Arthur. I found the story to be very atmospheric, engaging, and meticulously researched. Mrs. Ibbotson superbly made medieval Britain come alive for it felt as if I was walking alongside Lady Viviane. A Shape on the Air is filled with suspense and romance with a dash of the paranormal. I recommend this novel for fans of Daughters of Fire, Quest of the Scottish Warrior, and The Outlander!


Rating 4: out of 5 stars

Available on Amazon

Praise for Julia Ibbotson and A Shape on the Air

     “In the best Barbara Erskine tradition … I would highly recommend this novel” Historical Novel Society

     “Amazing …a really great book …I just couldn’t put it down” Hazel Morgan

     "a beautiful tale … a must-read for fans of time-slip and time-travel" Cathie Dunn

     "gripping, with a very real sense of sense of threat and danger, an enthralling mystery focused on hidden treasure, a wholly convincing romance, all across both timelines!" Anne Williams

     "Lovely identifiable heroines in both time periods … I love the strength and vulnerability" Melissa Morgan

     "Meticulously researched and wonderfully evocative. Loved it!" Anne Harvey


About the Author


     Acclaimed, award-winning author Julia Ibbotson is fascinated by the medieval world and the concept of resonances across time. She read English at Keele University, England (after a turbulent but exciting gap year in Ghana, West Africa) specialising in medieval language, literature and history, and has a PhD in socio-linguistics. She wrote her first novel at 10 years of age, but became a school teacher, then an academic as a senior university lecturer and researcher.

     She has published a number of books, including memoir, children’s medieval fantasy, a trilogy set in Ghana, and medieval time-slip, as well as academic works. Apart from insatiable reading, she loves travelling the world, singing in choirs, swimming, yoga and walking in the countryside in England and Madeira where she and her husband divide their time.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

Giveaway

    Enter to win a copy of A Shape on the Air by Julia Ibbotson!

     The giveaway is open to the US only and ends on February 24th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

A Shape on the Air


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I