Stolen by Jessica Titone: A Book Review

Stolen
Author: Jessica Titone
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Jessica Titone
Release Date: November 24, 2017
Pages: 232
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In the twilight days of World War II, seventeen year old Ella's heart is broken when her partner, Jesse, mysteriously vanishes from their London ballet school. A search for him proves futile, leaving Ella to take matters into her own hands. Lured by a strange melody, she ventures through an old attic door and emerges in an idyllic, magical land. There she meets Wren, who instills in her the ways of the forest and fear of the mountain queen. The quest to rescue her lost love forces Ella down a path that questions her loyalty, tests her fortitude, and examines her heart's deepest desires.

     My Review: Ella is a student at a ballet academy that dreams of becoming a ballerina. She falls for her partner, Jesse. Just before their romance begins, Jesse disappears without a trace. Heartbroken, Ella is determined to find him. During her search, she stumbles upon a magical new land called Arcadia. She learns that Jesse is a prisoner of the realm’s queen. Can Ella rescue him or will she lose him for good?

      Ella is a fun and lovable character. She is very ambitious and loves to read poems. At times, she can be strange because she loves to talk to herself. However, she always likes to see the good in others. I really thought her character grows when she is in Arcadia. She is forced to make hard decisions and to trust in others. It was interesting to see how Ella matures into a strong heroine. Ella is not a person who gives up easily. Thus, Ella is a tough character, and I kept rooting for her to find happiness.

     Overall, this book is about friendship, loss, and choices. I thought the characters were well-developed. However, I thought the kindling romance between Jesse and Ella was rushed and would have liked it to have developed more slowly. I also did not get a good grasp of the world-building of Arcadia and would have liked a more explanation of the world. The plot was a bit slow-moving at times. However, it was full of magic and mystery that kept me at the edge of my seat reading! I wanted to find out what would happen to Ella in the end! It was a very heart-wrenching story that captivated me from the first page. While it has a satisfactory ending, I would love to have a sequel. I want to see what the aftermath of the journey lies in wake of these characters. Stolen was a beautiful emotional story that is perfect for fans of fantasy and fairy-tale lovers. I recommend this for fans of The Snow Queen, Sun, Moon, Ice and Snow, and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Deborah Rising by Avraham Azrieli: A Book Review

The Woman in the Camphor Trunk (Anna Blanc Mystery #2) by Jennifer Kincheloe: A Book Review

My Most Anticipated Books of 2018!