Favorite Books of 2017

Looking back at the year of 2017, there were a lot of good reads and also a few disappointing ones.  Some books I knew little about ended up being favorites, and some books by favorite authors were among my least. Overall, though, there were many very good titles to keep me thoroughly entertained. This is a list of my favorite books for the year.



This was a such a fun read about a Celtic princess turned into a female gladiator! I can't wait for the sequel to come out!



I'm a sucker for fairy tales and Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite fairy tales! Rachel L. Demeter gave a gothic spin to this classic tale! I can't wait to read the next book in the series!


Margaret George is one of my favorite authors, and this proves why she is my go to author! I have read many books on Cleopatra, but so far this has been the best! Margaret George gives us an intimate and very realistic view on this elusive queen.


I'm a huge fan of the Maisie Dobbs series! The latest book in the series was a very fast-paced thriller! I can't wait till the next book in the series! In the meantime, I'm trying to satiate my thirst by trying other historical mysteries. I think I may try Bess Crawford, Maggie Hope, or Her Royal Spyness next!


The Shadows of Ladenbrook Manor tells the story of three strong women. This novel was filled with secrets and murder that is perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, and Jan Moran!


Chateau of Secrets tells the story of a young woman who risks her life to hide the French resistance fighters. It was a very thought provoking novel that had a profound effect on me after I read the final pages. I also liked how the author did not portray the Nazis as stereotypical villains. She showed us some Nazis were forced to join Hitler's army to protect their loved ones.


I love Biblical fiction, and The Fisherman's Bride is one of the best that I have read in the genre! It tells the story of Peter's wife. I really love how the author portrays the daily life of the women in Israel! I can't wait to read the sequel! This novel is perfect for fans of Angela Hunt, Jill Eileen Smith, and Rebecca Kanner!


Becoming Bonnie is a biographical novel about Bonnie Parker. While the novel is mostly historically inaccurate, it was still a very entertaining read! I'm highly anticipating the next novel, Side by Side!


The Seven Sisters is one of the most magical reads of 2017! It features an exotic history, and focuses on the making of Christ the Redeemer statue! You are most definitely in for a treat!



I have just finished The Storm Sister and I have recently re-read The Shadow Sister! The Seven Sisters are quickly becoming my favorite series so far! I'm excited for the release of The Pearl Sister!


As a fan of the Tudors, this biography of Anne Boleyn had been recommended to me by Tudor fanatics! However as much as it intrigued me, it took me years until I finally got around and borrowed it from my local library. Once I read it, I can't believe I had procrastinated so long to read it! It gave me a different perspective on this infamous queen. This biography showed Anne Boleyn as a great Renaissance queen. She was a woman who was feared by many, and it would take a coup to bring her down! I highly recommend this novel for Tudor fans!


Alison Weir is one of my favorite authors, and I was happy when she wrote about Anne Boleyn! Anne Boleyn is a very a complex character. She is a woman who is very insecure in her position! So far, I think this is the best book on Anne Boleyn! I interested to see Alison Weir's take on Jane Seymour! The novel, The Haunted Queen, will be out in a few months, and I wish May would come very soon so I can read it!


The Daughters of La Lune are now one of my favorite series! M. J. Rose does not disappoint! The series is full of romance, mystery, and ghosts! I can't wait for the next novel!


Lilli De Jong was one of the most emotional reads of 2017! There were a few uncomfortable scenes that sometimes made it a hard read. However, I thought it was a touching story of motherhood. It is an important story that definitely needs to be read!


Before I read this short biography, I did not know much about the life of Catherine of Braganza. She is often portrayed as the neglected wife of Charles II. However, this biography shows that she may have had the makings of a good queen. This was a very enlightening read, and I want to learn more about this forgotten queen.


Casanova is one of history's cads. I felt sorry for Caterina, having been seduced by Casanova only to abandon her in the end. Casanova's Secret Wife is perfect for fans of Italian historical fiction.


As a fan of Marie Antoinette, this is a must-read! I thought that it was a light and very easy to read biography! The author stressed that even though the French Revolution held dark times for Marie Antoinette, there were also some good moments that she enjoyed. Thus, it gave me a different perspective on Marie Antoinette!

Princess Diana has been one of the most beautiful and elegant women that I have ever seen in my lifetime! I am saddened how she has become one of the 20th century's most tragic figures. Her life seemed like a fairytale but the truth revealed that it was not. This biography reads more like an autobiography, and it gives us an insight into her tragic past. I'm so glad that her sons have a much happier ending than she did!


This was a very intriguing true story about how a slave girl became queen of the Ottoman empire! Roxelana was a contemporary of Catherine de Medici and Elizabeth I. However, she is often forgotten! After reading this biography, I'm curious to know more about her!


This was a very entertaining and enlightening read about Empress Marie Feodorovna! I found the part of the Russian Revolution to be the most interesting aspect of the book! The author created an intimate portrait of the Empress, and I came away feeling that I understand her! C. W. Gortner is coming out with a historical fiction novel on this empress in June, and I can't wait to read it!


I have always been a fan of Little House on the Prairie, and I loved how it was a retelling from Ma's perspective! This was a very faithful retelling! Ma is a very strong character! I also found it a realistic portrayal of pioneer life! This is a must read for fans of the series!










Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Deborah Rising by Avraham Azrieli: A Book Review

The Woman in the Camphor Trunk (Anna Blanc Mystery #2) by Jennifer Kincheloe: A Book Review

My Most Anticipated Books of 2018!