Skip to main content

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem

Author: Dave Tamanini

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: David F Tamanini

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 317

Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.


     Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.

     A Promise and a Hope

     Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.

     A Mother’s Agony

     When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.

     Witches Tear into Salem

     The villagers see witches and demons everywhere. Their ministers say the Devil has sent them to steal souls. But they are wrong. It is Tituba—disobeying an ancient rule—conjuring terrifying images with magic that sparks the infamous witch hunts of 1692.

     A Woman’s Dilemma

     As neighbors accuse neighbors of witchcraft, hysterical trials follow. And Tituba gloats in her power. But when hangings begin, her conscience arises. Can she confront her secret crime? And when a chance for redemption presents itself, will she take it?

      My Review: Tituba retells the Salem Witch trials from Tituba’s perspective. Tituba was the first person to be accused of witchcraft in Salem. This novel paints Tituba as an actual witch and tells why she uses witchcraft. When the witchcraft trials begin and the hangings start, Tituba begins to feel remorse. Can Tituba ever be redeemed?


Tituba is a tragic character. She is a slave that works in a preacher’s household. Her preacher is cruel to her and makes her life miserable. Thus, she turns to witchcraft, and it makes her feel powerful. However, she feels remorse when she causes innocent people to die in the witchcraft trials. While I found myself empathizing with Tituba, I did not feel connected to her. I thought that she was not developed very well for she is mostly overshadowed by her master, Reverend Parris who I thought was more complex than she was. However, I did admire her role as a mother.


Overall, this novel is about choices, loss, and redemption. The characters were not really developed. However, I thought the author made Salem really come alive. He portrayed how superstitious the people of Salem were. Therefore, I found the setting to be the best part of the novel. The novel was also very slow in the beginning, but picked up pace during the witchcraft trials. Even though the author portrays Tituba as an actual witch, I don’t think she was historically. Still, I find this novel did justice to Tituba by showing her hardships. I recommend this book for fans of The Heretic’s Daughter, A Break with Charity, and The Sacrifice! Tituba is a novel that anyone who loves reading about the Salem Witchcraft Trials will not want to miss!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


This is the official book trailer of Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem:




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud