Skip to main content

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem

Author: Dave Tamanini

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: David F Tamanini

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 317

Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.


     Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.

     A Promise and a Hope

     Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.

     A Mother’s Agony

     When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.

     Witches Tear into Salem

     The villagers see witches and demons everywhere. Their ministers say the Devil has sent them to steal souls. But they are wrong. It is Tituba—disobeying an ancient rule—conjuring terrifying images with magic that sparks the infamous witch hunts of 1692.

     A Woman’s Dilemma

     As neighbors accuse neighbors of witchcraft, hysterical trials follow. And Tituba gloats in her power. But when hangings begin, her conscience arises. Can she confront her secret crime? And when a chance for redemption presents itself, will she take it?

      My Review: Tituba retells the Salem Witch trials from Tituba’s perspective. Tituba was the first person to be accused of witchcraft in Salem. This novel paints Tituba as an actual witch and tells why she uses witchcraft. When the witchcraft trials begin and the hangings start, Tituba begins to feel remorse. Can Tituba ever be redeemed?


Tituba is a tragic character. She is a slave that works in a preacher’s household. Her preacher is cruel to her and makes her life miserable. Thus, she turns to witchcraft, and it makes her feel powerful. However, she feels remorse when she causes innocent people to die in the witchcraft trials. While I found myself empathizing with Tituba, I did not feel connected to her. I thought that she was not developed very well for she is mostly overshadowed by her master, Reverend Parris who I thought was more complex than she was. However, I did admire her role as a mother.


Overall, this novel is about choices, loss, and redemption. The characters were not really developed. However, I thought the author made Salem really come alive. He portrayed how superstitious the people of Salem were. Therefore, I found the setting to be the best part of the novel. The novel was also very slow in the beginning, but picked up pace during the witchcraft trials. Even though the author portrays Tituba as an actual witch, I don’t think she was historically. Still, I find this novel did justice to Tituba by showing her hardships. I recommend this book for fans of The Heretic’s Daughter, A Break with Charity, and The Sacrifice! Tituba is a novel that anyone who loves reading about the Salem Witchcraft Trials will not want to miss!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


This is the official book trailer of Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem:




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol