Skip to main content

Cleopatra Unconquered (Volume #1) by Helen R. Davis: A Book Review

Cleopatra Unconquered (Cleopatra Reimagined Book #1)
Author: Helen R. Davis
Genre: Alternative Historical Fiction
Publisher: Savant Books & Publications LLC
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 328
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The first book of three in a richly imagined ancient world where the course of history is altered by one battle. In this world, Antony and Cleopatra triumph at the Battle of Actium, and Cleopatra emerges as a queen, stateswoman, and politician. Those around her come to life as the reader returns to those days to live them with her. 

     My Review: Cleopatra Unconquered is the first in a trilogy that that imagines what would happen if Cleopatra won the Battle of Actium. This book narrates Cleopatra’s challenges to becoming pharaoh. She is the favorite child of her father Ptolemy XII. When he dies, Cleopatra marries her brother Ptolemy XIII. However, she faces a war between her siblings for the crown of Egypt. Her only hope of ever reconquering her kingdom is through Julius Caesar. Together, Julius Caesar and Cleopatra dream of forming an alliance between Rome and Egypt.

   Even though this is an alternative history series, Cleopatra Unconquered is mostly a straightforward historical fiction novel until the end. This novel introduces us to Cleopatra and her trials. Cleopatra is a strong and capable queen. She is a quick-thinker and manges to turn the odds in her favor. She can be impatient at times. However, she is very ambitious. The novels shows that she loves Egypt and cares about her kingdom. Thus, she was a very admirable figure and shows that she was able to hold her own in a man’s world.

   Overall, Cleopatra Unconquered is full of political intrigue, betrayal, and ambition. I like how the novel narrates the events that happen before the Battle of Actium. I thought all the characters except for Antony were developed. There were very few scenes with Antony, and I would love for him to be featured more. The drawbacks of the novel was the fantasy aspect in the story did not appeal to me, and I found them to be unnecessary to the plot. Also, the story seemed rushed, especially towards the end. It seemed as if once she met her word count, the author wanted to suddenly end her novel. Despite these flaws, it was a very enjoyable novel for fans of Cleopatra. I look forward to reading what happens to Cleopatra and Antony. I recommend this novel for fans of The Memoirs of Cleopatra, Kleopatra, and Cleopatra: Daughter of the Nile.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

  1. Thank you so much for your review, Lauralee!

    Amy
    HF Virtual Book Tours

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just to let you know this is first in a series of four now. It is no longer going to be a trilogy.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot