Skip to main content

Mrs, Van Goh by Caroline Cauchi: A Book Review

Mrs. Van Goh
Author: Caroline Cauchi
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: One More Chapter 
Release Date: January 30, 2023
Pages: 484

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: She’s been painted out of history…until now

Who tells her story?


     In 1890, Vincent Van Gogh dies penniless, unknown, a man tortured by his own mind.


     Eleven years later his work is exhibited in Paris and his unparalleled talent finally recognised. The tireless efforts of one woman gave the world one of its greatest creative minds.


     But twenty-eight year old Johanna Van Gogh-Bonger, Vincent’s sister-in-law and the keeper of his immense collection of paintings, sketches and letters, has, until now, been written out of history. This beautiful, moving novel finally gives this extraordinary woman a voice…

     

     My Review: Johanna Van Goh-Bonger was the sister-in-law of Vincent Van Goh. After her husband’s death, Johanna inherited her brother-in-law’s art collection. Johanna worked tirelessly to establish Vincent Van Goh’s legacy and preserve his fame by showcasing his paintings at exhibitions. This historical novel shows Johanna as a woman who loves her husband but admires her brother-in-law’s talent. Through her faith in Vincent Van Goh, Johanna worked hard to ensure the world would continue to remember his work.


    Johanna is a very admirable character. She is an intellectual. She loves reading novels and has a passion for art. She is a very strong-willed woman and is determined to live her life according to her own terms. I loved her romance with her husband, Theo. It was a very sweet relationship. I also admired her friendship with her brother-in-law, Vincent. She emphasizes with him as he makes his descent into madness. However, she sees his talent and potential for greatness. Thus, her relationship with the Van Goh brothers was the best aspect of this novel. 


    Overall, this novel is about art, love, and family. I found all of the characters to be very fascinating. As much as I liked the characters, the novel was not without flaws. I thought that this book was very slow and repetitive. I also thought that after the Van Goh brothers died, the rest of the story was rushed. Even though it was a long book, it needed to be to flesh out the latter parts of Johanna’s life. Still, I found this novel to be meticulously researched and was very well-written. I liked how the setting focused on the art world of Paris, and it made me feel as if I was walking with Johanna along the Parisian streets. Thus, this novel is a must-read for art lovers! I recommend this novel for fans of Rodin’s Lover, The Other Alcott, and Ophelia’s Muse!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,