Skip to main content

The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre by Natasha Lester: A Book Review

The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre
Author: Natasha Lester
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Forever
Release Date: January 10, 2023
Pages: 365
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Alix St. Pierre. An unforgettable name for an unforgettable woman. She grew up surrounded by Hollywood glamor, but, as an orphan, never truly felt part of that world. In 1943, with WWII raging and men headed overseas to fight, she lands a publicity job to recruit women into the workforce. Her skills—persuasion, daring, quick-witted under pressure—catch the attention of the U.S. government and she finds herself with an even bigger assignment: sent to Switzerland as a spy. Soon Alix is on the precipice of something big, very big. But how far can she trust her German informant…?

 

    After an Allied victory that didn’t come nearly soon enough, Alix moves to Paris, ready to immerse herself in a new position as director of publicity for the yet-to-be-launched House of Dior. In the glamorous halls of the French fashion house, she can nearly forget everything she lost and the dangerous secret she carries. But when a figure from the war reappears and threatens to destroy her future, Alix realizes that only she can right the wrongs of the past …and finally find justice.

    

     My Review: Alix St. Pierre was a spy during WWII. After the war, Alix worked for Christian Dior. Alix advised Christian Dior to make a dress for Rita Hayworth to help launch his new product. Thus, her memories of the war seemed to be behind, and she could begin her life anew. However, Alix learned that a Nazi war criminal, who was involved in the death of her fiancé, is hiding in Paris. Alix is determined to find the criminal and also hopes to find peace after her traumatic past.


I did not like Alix. I did find her to be a strong and intelligent woman. She was a woman who experienced much trauma and loss. However, I could not connect with her. She seemed very distant and cold. Most of her emotions seemed to be very forced. This may be because the book relied heavily on telling and not showing. Thus, I was not invested in Alix, and I found myself more interested in the characters around her.


Overall, this novel is about trauma, choices, and recovery. The message of the novel is to forgive yourself.  The supporting characters, especially Christian Dior were fascinating. I did not like how the book was formatted. It often switched between Alix’s past and present. I think the story would have flowed better if it was told in a more chronological format. I also thought that the book was very drawn out and repetitive. I also thought the romance overshadowed the main storyline. The novel’s best feature was the setting. I loved the settings of Switzerland, Italy, Paris, and New York. I also liked the mystery aspect of the novel. Thus, The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre had potential, but it fell flat. Still, I recommend this for fans of Invisible Woman, A Most Clever Girl, and The Alice Network!


Rating: 2 ½ out of 5 stars


Here is the official book trailer for The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre:



Here is a video of Mrs. Lester talking about the inspiration behind The Three Lives of Alix St Pierre:


Here is a video of Mrs. Lester discussing what is fact and what is fictional in The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre:


Here is a video of Mrs. Lester describing her research process for The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,